Kevin Costner Reveals Why He Was “On Morphine” While Filming ‘Hidden Figures’: “I Wanted To Cry”

Where to Stream:

Hidden Figures

Powered by Reelgood

Kevin Costner has some painful memories from filming the 2016 drama Hidden Figures.

The actor, who starred alongside Octavia Spencer, Taraji P. Henson and Janelle Monáe in the hit movie, revealed that he was suffering from kidney stones during the last few weeks of filming.

“I’ve never worked drunk on a set. I’ve never worked high on a set, but I was on morphine the last two weeks that I worked on [Hidden Figures],” he told People. “I had kidney stones, and I worked 10 days under an [IV] drip. I don’t even know how.”

The star said he “never missed a day at work,” before adding, “And then when I thought I was going to be off [the morphine], a second kidney stone came, which I never had, and I was right back on it. So I sat in my trailer with a morphine drip in my arm.”

Costner eventually had to roll his sleeves down to hide the bruising from the IV needle. “I wanted to cry, but there was everybody watching, so I didn’t,” he admitted.

Based on a true story, Hidden Figures follows three brilliant Black women mathematicians (Spencer, Henson and Monáe) who worked at NASA during the Space Race in the 1960s. Costner played Al Harrison, the director of the Space Task Group (STG), in the movie — which also starred Kirsten Dunst, Jim Parsons, Mahershala Ali and Glen Powell.

Costner told People that “it was magic” working with director Theodore Melfi, calling their collaboration “one of the greatest experiences I’ve had.”

'Hidden Figures'
Photo: Everett Collection

The Yellowstone star previously revealed that Melfi allowed him to make edits to his fictional character.

“When you know a character really well, sometimes you know just by looking at them what they’re thinking,” Costner told Vulture in 2016. “And we understood that my character needed to have what you might call a real or vague form of racism, which is that he wasn’t paying attention. He wasn’t paying enough attention in the workplace to know that this was even a problem.”

Hidden Figures ultimately raked in a whopping $236 million at the global box office, according to the New York Post. Plus, the movie was nominated for Best Picture and Spencer was nominated for best supporting actress at the Academy Awards.