Charlamagne Tha God Scolds ‘The View’ For Trying To Get Him To Endorse Joe Biden: “Why Do Y’all Need Us To Say This If We Don’t Feel Comfortable Saying It?”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Things got a little heated on this morning’s episode of The View when Sunny Hostin tried to force radio host Charlamagne tha God to endorse Joe Biden in the upcoming presidential election.

When it came time for Hostin to ask her question, she turned her attention to Charlamagne’s refusal to endorse any candidate in the 2024 election, despite endorsing Biden in 2020. “Charlamagne, now is not the time, in my opinion, to sit this one out,” she fumed.

While Charlamagne promised he’d “definitely” be voting in November, he explained that he’d rather focus on “issues, not individuals.” However, that wasn’t enough for Hostin, who bluntly asked why he wouldn’t publicly endorse Biden over Donald Trump.

“Because if I’m sitting here telling my listeners that you have somebody out there who is a threat to democracy, you have somebody out there who said they want to suspend the constitution to overthrow the results of an election, you saw this person try to lead an attempted coup of this country and I’m telling people that this guy is a threat to democracy,” he said, referring to Trump. “There are only two candidates out there. So if I’m saying that about this individual, the choice is clear, right?”

(Editor’s Note: The View is on hiatus today; contrary to what you may have heard, The View was not canceled today. This article was originally published on May 22, 2024 when this episode first aired. The View will return with new episodes next week.)

Charlamagne then took aim at the co-hosts of The View for repeatedly attempting to solicit a Biden endorsement from their guests.

“I’ve seen y’all do this on The View before. I saw y’all do this to Killer Mike when he was on The View,” he said. “And Killer Mike literally sat here and said, ‘Hey, I supported Keisha Lance Bottoms. I supported [Raphael] Warnock, I supported Jon Osoff in Georgia.’ He said, ‘You should support the person who the people I supported are supporting.'”

Charlamagne added, “That’s y’all opportunity to say, ‘Clearly he’s talking about President Biden.’ Why do y’all need us to say this if we don’t feel comfortable saying it?”

'The View'
Photo: ABC

Whoopi Goldberg chimed in to argue that “other folks” need to hear that he and his celebrity peers are endorsing Biden since “getting facts out through the media seems to be very difficult” these days.

“I feel like I just spewed some facts,” Charlamagne fired back, to which Goldberg replied, “Yes, but we need you to do it on your show.”

Charlamagne further explained his decision to refrain from endorsing a candidate, telling the co-hosts that he believes both options are “trash.”

“But I’m going to vote in November and I’m going to vote in my best interest and I’m going to vote who I think can preserve democracy,” he said. “So if I feel like both candidates are trash and I don’t feel like endorsing one, would you rather me endorse an individual or endorse the fact that, hey, we need to go out there and protect democracy?”

By the end of the segment, Charlamagne very clearly specified who he wouldn’t be voting for.

“Not only am I saying I’m gonna vote, I’m telling you who the threat who democracy is. His name is Donald Trump if you want me to spell that one out,” he said, prompting Goldberg to remind the audience that there are “only two” frontrunner candidates to choose from, so his choice should be obvious.

Charlamagne then quipped, “I mean, there’s third-party candidates, but you know…” to which Goldberg jokingly replied, “I will beat your behind.”

The View airs on weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.