Kevin Bacon Lived Like One Of Us For A Day — And Gave A Brutally Honest Review Of Civilian Life

Where to Stream:

Watch What Happens Live With Andy Cohen

Powered by Reelgood

Kevin Bacon recently had the opportunity to kick off his Sunday shoes and step into those of the average Joe.

The Footloose star, who noted that he has “a face that’s pretty recognizable,” told Vanity Fair that he ” went to a special effects makeup artist, had consultations, and asked him to make [him] a prosthetic disguise” in order to try his hand at being normal in public, per Entertainment Weekly.

At the Grove in Los Angeles, Bacon sported fake teeth, glasses, and a prosthetic nose, and fortunately, “nobody recognized [him]” — or was that so fortunate?

“People were kind of pushing past me, not being nice. Nobody said, ‘I love you,’” he teased. “I had to wait in line to, I don’t know, buy a fucking coffee or whatever. I was like, This sucks. I want to go back to being famous.”

During Bacon’s April visit to Payson High School, where Footloose was filmed, the actor recalled enrolling there as a student to prepare for playing his breakout role of Ren McCormack, telling TODAY that despite having “the hair” and donning a tie, he was not immune to fear.

“I lost all of my bravado. I just became you know, kind of terrified,” he remembered. “And then, just like the movie, one kid sort of took me under his wing and said, ‘I’ll show you around. Come on, you’re with me.’ It was straight out of the movie.”

Kevin Bacon in 'MaXXXine'
Photo: Everett Collection

Upon announcing his return to Payson High School in March, he deemed both the film and the school to be “a big part of [his] life,” and was “impressed” by the work of students dedicated to convincing him to come back.

In May, Bacon’s wife and fellow famous actor Kyra Sedgwick revealed on Watch What Happens Live that she and Bacon “absolutely” fooled around in their trailers on set.

“If the trailer’s rockin’, don’t come knockin’,” she quipped. “It’s a good line, right?”