Andrew McCarthy Reveals That Judd Nelson Was The “Most Excited” To Be In ‘Brats’ Doc — Then Ghosted Him

Where to Stream:

BRATS (2024)

Powered by Reelgood

Judd Nelson wasn’t always against appearing in Brats, according to the Hulu documentary’s director and fellow Brat Pack member Andrew McCarthy.

In the beginning of the documentary, McCarthy sets out on a mission to reunite with the group of actors he rose to fame with in the 1980s. Stars like Emilio Estevez and Demi Moore agree to sit down with McCarthy, who has a much more difficult time getting in touch with Nelson.

…Or so it seems.

McCarthy revealed on today’s episode of Andy Cohen‘s Sirius XM radio show Andy Cohen Live that Nelson was actually one of the first actors to answer his call in the beginning of the documentary.

“At the beginning of the movie, when I am calling up everybody, there’s one moment where I’m saying to someone, ‘Don’t tell me now. Don’t tell me now. I want to get this all on film,'” McCarthy explained. “And that was Judd I was talking to.”

As we know now, Nelson turned down the opportunity to appear in the film. However, McCarthy said that the Breakfast Club star was the “most excited of anyone” when he first heard of the project.

“[He said], ‘Yeah, I’d love to. OK.’ And he just launched in about all the Brat Pack stuff,” McCarthy said of his initial call to Nelson. “And that’s when I said to him, which is in the movie, ‘Don’t tell me now. I want to get this all on film. Just slow down, Judd. I’ll come out to L.A. and we’ll sit down.’ He said, ‘That’s great. Call me when you’re ready. I’m here.’”

'St. Elmo's Fire'
Photo: Everett Collection

But according to McCarthy, Nelson disappeared after that.

“He sort of became like a unicorn,” he said. “We couldn’t find him for months and months and months. And finally he just said, ‘You know, I don’t want to do it.’ He just changed his mind, which is fine.”

Cohen, for his part, called Nelson’s change of tune “so annoying.”

Nelson previously expressed his discomfort with the documentary, telling Us Weekly that it felt “strange” to turn the subject of the Brat Pack into something for “edited entertainment.”

“Also, like, [McCarthy’s] a nice guy, but I hadn’t seen him in 35 years. And it’s like, I’m not going to [be] like, ‘Hey!’ No, dude,” he said, before adding, “Why kind of rebirth something that wasn’t necessarily fun? … How can we be experts on something that didn’t ever really exist?”