In Praise of Little Things (and Raising Little Ones)

June 26, 2024

In large part, I help by staying dedicated to faithful moments as I live life with my children. Taking 30 minutes to rake some leaves into a big pile and jump in with them. 20 minutes to share some stories of my favorite saints with them, and another 10 to hear about some of theirs. Committing to 5 minutes of choppy, distracted prayer before bedtime when they’re little. 60 minutes wrangling them from under the pews at Mass and 2 minutes to explain to them why I am so in awe of receiving our Lord in the Eucharist each week (and what it tastes like as they are wont to know). A few minutes for a timeout and 1 minute to reaffirm that I still love them (while I wonder if a timeout even does anything at all–but what’s an exhausted parent to do?).

I trust that the dynamic of the law in Luke 16 is applicable to raising children: “The person who is trustworthy in very small matters is also trustworthy in great ones; and the person who is dishonest in very small matters is also dishonest in great ones” (v10). I hope that the more faithful I am to those little things, those little moments, those little bricks that make up my home, my life; I hope that in those things that my children are so intertwined in right now, they come to see the larger proposal of the goodness of life lived through the Catholic faith. I hope they can see that my role as husband and father is cherished, my marriage is happy, and my work in Catholic schools is satisfying and meaningful. That even the little moments in “fixing” things around the house, playing games that only we know the rules to, visiting and laughing with friends, and bringing home some ice cream on a random Tuesday night are all surrounded by whispers of the Holy Spirit, maybe missed in the moment been seen brightly in retrospect.

If we neglect the little things, we neglect everything. The big things (marriage, careers, friendships, children) are made of the little things (an unnoticed good deed, a phone call with a friend, sharing a compliment just because). Modern spiritual master and Trappist monk, Thomas Merton, boldly states in Thoughts in Solitude, “A life is either all spiritual or not spiritual at all. No man can serve two masters. Your life is shaped by the end you live for. You are made in the image of what you desire.” I want my moments, all those little things, to reach down deep enough that I am aware Christ is present. For those moments to be faithful moments. To become bricks that overcome the imperfections enough to bound together and build a home in which the Holy Spirit can find space to dwell.


Bryce Crandall has been in Catholic education for nearly 15 years as a Theology teacher, counselor, coach, and school administrator. He has been published in The Catechetical Review and Solid Food Press Literary Journal. He currently resides in Northern California with his wife and four young children, who are teaching him how to dance
Share:
Author
Bryce Crandall

Share:

Don’t Miss a Thing

Subscribe to get email notifications of new posts and special offers PLUS a St. Joseph digital poster.

Related

COMMENTS

Reader Interactions

Leave a Reply