Advertisement

Blake Sims admits his fear of flying, gets no sympathy from teammates

(Jim Brown-USA TODAY Sports)

(Jim Brown-USA TODAY Sports)

NEW ORLEANS — It doesn’t matter how short the flight is, Blake Sims is not a fan of airplanes.

Airtime is about 56 minutes from Tuscaloosa to New Orleans, but it was a bumpy ride Saturday due to rainy weather and the Alabama quarterback doesn’t like being in situations he can’t control.

“That’s not my cup of tea,” he said.

Upon the Crimson Tide’s arrival in New Orleans for the Sugar Bowl, fullback Jalston Fowler disclosed Sims’ uneasiness about the flight and flying in general.

“When we pull up in the plane, we see him hop up on the seat just looking around scared,” he said. “I was just laughing at him.”

Sims admitted as much to reporters.

“No, I do not like flying at all,” he said.

He said his teammates give him a hard time about it and find his jitters “hilarious.”

“They try and crack jokes on me and try to mess with me, but I put my headphones on and block it all out,” Sims said.

Alabama arrived on a Boeing 757, while Ohio State flew in on a much larger Boeing 747. The Buckeyes landed first and their plane was still on the ground when the Tide got in about 20 minutes later. Sims said there was no way he could have flown on a plane of that size.

“Oh I wouldn’t be able to get on that one at all,” he said.

Ohio State arrived in a 747. (Laken Litman-USA TODAY Sports)

Ohio State arrived on a Boeing 747. (Laken Litman-USA TODAY Sports)

More College Football