Advertisement

Boston's Evan Turner on being booed by Philly fans: 'Jesus was hated too'

Bill Streicher/USA TODAY Sports

Bill Streicher/USA TODAY Sports

The Philadelphia 76ers selected Evan Turner with the No. 2 pick in the 2010 NBA Draft (Turner was taken before DeMarcus Cousins, Paul George and Eric Bledsoe), but after Turner failed to blossom with the Sixers after three and a half seasons, he was sent to the Pacers in exchange for Danny Granger. The Pacers decided to allow Turner become an unrestricted free agent over the summer, and he signed with the Boston Celtics.

Turner returned to Philadelphia to face his old team Monday night, and the crowd at the Wells Fargo center booed Turner each time he touched the ball. The crowd’s reaction didn’t bother Turner, though. In his words, “Jesus was hated too.”

Via CSNNE:

“It’s on you to see what you’re going to take from it. I pay attention to the positive. I don’t worry about it anymore. I don’t want to sound super weird, but Jesus was hated too. At the end of the day, I just worry about the stuff that’s important. If it makes you happy to boo me, go ahead. I’m still happy. I put all that stuff behind me.”

Turner scored 12 points in 27 minutes, and the Celtics won 105-87.

More NBA