Advertisement

Jeff Foxworthy talks College Football Playoff and the hapless NFC South

Comedian Jeff Foxworthy has teamed up with Reese’s for an ad campaign where he is Ref Foxworthy. He issues calls on the field, and dispenses justice in the form of peanut butter and chocolate.

Foxworthy hopped on the phone with For The Win to talk about the College Football Playoff and his hapless Atlanta Falcons.

So I’m told you like football. Are you for-real liking football or just watching when it’s on?

My youngest daughter’s husband has a pool where you pick college and NFL games, and he invited me to join this year because I think he didn’t think I’d be any good. Let’s bring in the TV funny man and beat up on him. Don’t even ask me who’s in first place right now though. Don’t even ask me.

You showed them up, huh?

Yep. First place.

So how do you like the College Football Playoff?

I love it. I think it’s great.

You’re OK even with the Big 12 missing out?

Well, the Big 12 has to own part of that. They didn’t have a conference championship, so they got left out. But that’s on them. They’re called the Big 12, you’d think they’d be able to find 12 teams.

But I like it. I do wish maybe it was eight teams though. I think that’d be perfect. That way you get the conference winners of the big five conferences and then you give three at-large bids. That, for me, that’d be perfect.

Who do you have in the Alabama-Ohio State game?

Alabama. With a big tip of the hat to Ohio State, and what they’ve done there going with, what, their third-string quarterback?

But Alabama has gotten better every week. At the beginning of the season I thought their DBs were really suspect, but they’ve improved every game.

Which fan base handles New Orleans better, do you think?

Well, no one handles New Orleans well. My wife is from there. It’s a place where everything is to excess. If I lived there I’d weigh 400 pounds.

I don’t know how people do it. Nights out in New Orleans, it’s like the NCAA hoops tournament: Survive and advance.

Who do you like in FSU-Oregon?

I’m gonna take Oregon. Florida State reminds me a lot of that Auburn team, where they won every game by the skin of their teeth. But that can only last so long before it catches up with you.

And I’ve watched Oregon a bit. I like their offense. I like [Marcus] Mariota; the kid has talent.

You think Mariota makes it as a pro?

Ugh, I think that’s the hardest thing in the world to call. There are guys I was certain would be great, the best guys in college, guys like Colt McCoy, and they turn out to be flubs.

I just think the offensive line is the most underrated thing in the world. If you give any of these guys enough time, they look amazing. Look at Matt Ryan or Drew Brees — when they have great offensive lines, they look like all-timers. But this year, you know, without as much time, they struggle.

Before we transition to NFL, who do you like in the National Championship game?

Now, before I say this, I gotta say that I’m a huge SEC homer. But I’m picking Oregon in an upset over Alabama. I don’t think a lot of people are going my way, but I like Oregon, and I think they’re better than people think. Plus they’re fun, I like the fun of it all.

So you’re an Atlanta guy. What’s this season like being a Falcons fan?

It’s unlike anything I can ever remember. I can’t figure it out. The Green Bay game, I was watching that one and just turned the TV off. They ended up barely losing. I mean, at the start of the year, by game six, I was saying I hope they’d lose every game and get a high draft pick. Then they were a game away from hosting a home game in the playoffs.

Anything can happen in this league. The parity — I know the NFL wants it — but it shows you how much parity there is. Any team can make a leap or fall any year. I don’t know how anyone gambles on football. None of it makes any sense. I tip my cap to them.

More College Football