Advertisement

Marcus Mariota's touching Heisman acceptance speech moved his dad to tears

Marcus Mariota became the 80th Heisman Trophy winner on Saturday night with the second largest margin behind Troy Smith in 2006. He’s also the first Oregon Ducks player to win the award.

Mariota prepared a touching speech for the occasion, thanking his coaching staff, his teammates (most importantly his offensive linemen), and finally his parents, whom by the end, brimming with pride, were moved to tears.

“Finally, Mom, Dad, Matt and the rest of my family, thank you. Thank you for sacrificing and providing me and Matt every opportunity we could have. Words can’t express how much you guys mean to me. I’m truly grateful to have you guys in my life.

Mom and Dad, thank you for your love and for sharing that with me and Matt. We are truly grateful.

Fa’afetai tele lava [thank you very much]. God bless, and go Ducks.”

You can watch the full speech above.

More College Football