Advertisement

Timothy Bradley suffers gruesome cheek injury in controversial draw against Diego Chaves

Timothy Bradley (31-1-1) recorded the first draw of his career Saturday night in Las Vegas despite dominating opponent Diego Chaves for most of the fight. Promoter Bob Arum was furious with the judges at ringside and personally called out judge Julie Lederman, who scored the bout 116-112 in favor of Chaves. Chaves appeared to headbutt Bradley in the second round, which caused Bradley to grab him left cheek.

ow2

By the end of the fight, Bradley’s face was incredibly swollen.

Joe Camporeale/USA TODAY Sports

Joe Camporeale/USA TODAY Sports

Bradley told Yahoo!’s Kevin Iole that he felt he clearly won.

Via Yahoo!:

“I won that easily. Worst-case scenario, it was eight rounds to four. I’m serious man. This is rough. I boxed well. I made him miss. I made him pay. He landed some good shots on me, but I countered. I countered him a lot in the fight. It was easy work. It was bad, bad, bad judging tonight. It wasn’t good. Not good at all.”

More Boxing