Advertisement

Kris Bryant talks Jake Arrieta, the Cubs dance parties and wedding planning

The Chicago Cubs have the best record in baseball, and according to Kris Bryant, they’re having the most fun as well. The 2015 Rookie of the Year took some time to talk to For The Win about being overshadowed by Jake Arrieta’s no-hitters, the team’s dance room and why he hasn’t tried Anthony Rizzo’s cereal.

Is it as much fun playing for the Cubs as it looks?

Yeah, especially right now. I’ve heard stories about playing before, that it was really fun playing for the Cubs even when they weren’t as good as we are right now. It’s so much fun. The fans are awesome. The city is so much fun to play in. I can’t really say enough about it. It’s like a dream come true for me.

Against the Reds on Thursday night, you went 4-6 with two home runs and six RBI, but Jake Arrieta threw a no-hitter. Did you feel a little overshadowed?

I think we all did! Offensively that game, we all did pretty well, but obviously, any time a pitcher throws a no-hitter, that doesn’t happen that often. We were all so happy for Jake. His second one in I think his last 10 starts. It’s just crazy. He’s a great guy to play behind. That was his night, but we all did well in that game.

How did you celebrate without a dance room like the one recently built at Wrigley Field?

We do that anyway, on the road. At Wrigley, they added a room so it’s not as messy, but we still make a mess in the other clubhouses. I’m not sure what they do to clean it up, but I feel bad all the time. There’s water everywhere. It’s kind of fun. We still make our own little dance room on the road.

What is the best part of that insane clubhouse that was recently unveiled at Wrigley, especially in comparison to the tiny one it replaced?

I only had one year in the old locker room, and some guys had to deal with it for four or five years. It’s unbelievable. They did such a good job. Obviously, the dance room is a lot of fun, something you don’t see in a lot of clubhouses, but everything is state-of-the-art. The kitchen, the lounge area is awesome. There’s so many things: arcade games, air hockey, ping pong, shuffleboard, pop-a-shot. I think that’s the most popular one in the room right now. There are so many cool gadgets in there. You can really get lost.

Are you staging any tournaments with the games in there?

We’re not really going for tournaments. We’re just going for high score on the pop-a-shot. I think Jake Arrieta has the high score. He’s good at everything.

Joe Maddon kept spring training interesting, with mimes and bear cubs among the surprises. What was your favorite part of spring training?

Oh man. There’s too many. Spring training does get pretty long and monotonous. Joe did a really cool job of mixing it up. I think my favorite part was when Munenori Kawasaki did karaoke for all of us. He was probably my favorite part of spring training. You never know what to expect from him, and Joe has really good ideas. Him bringing little bears to the field, and having a mime do stretches for us, pulling his truck on the field.

Is that unpredictability the fun part of having Joe Maddon as a manager?

That is the fun of him. He’s unlike any manager out there. He really gets we’re all a young group of guys, and we all enjoy having fun playing baseball on the field so it’s important to switch it up sometimes. If it’s the same thing, every day, for 162 games, we might lose our focus sometimes. He does a good job of mixing it up, bringing us back to having fun with it. The whole fun aspect of it helps us perform better on the field.

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Have you tried any of Anthony Rizzo’s cereal?

They have a couple boxes in the clubhouse. I’m not really a big cereal guy but I had to try it and support his cereal.

Do you two have the best bromance in baseball?

I don’t know. I certainly think it’s up there. There’s some pretty good ones out there. There’s so many guys on our team that have friendships like that. It just makes it a lot of fun. I think the whole Bryzzo thing is kinda catching on. People seem to like it, so we’ll run with it, too.

You two even have a commercial.

We do have a commercial! That was a fun one. A couple of other guys have them, too. But yeah, I think that was a pretty cool commercial that we did.

Fun aside, the Cubs have so far delivered this season, putting together a record of 14-5. Do you let yourself think about the World Series?

I think to a certain extent, it’s important, like the cliche, you focus on one game at a time. I think that’s very important, because I think when you start thinking about the future, it takes away from your performance that day. I think we’ve done a pretty good job at that. But if you’re not thinking about playoffs and the World Series, then I don’t know if that would ever come to you. It’s important to put that thought out there and believe that every time we come to the park, we’re going to win the game, and believe that will lead us to a World Series. The start we’ve had this year has been a positive one, so we’re all really excited about it.

You and your longtime girlfriend became engaged in the off-season. How is wedding planning going?

It’s going! It’s kind of hard to think about it while I’m playing.

Is your fiancee handling it?

She kills it. It’s every girl’s dream to plan a wedding, so she’s having fun with it. I am, too. I stay focused on baseball but it’s a pretty fun process.

EXPRESS

EXPRESS

You’ve recently signed on with EXPRESS. Are they making your wedding suit?

I don’t know! I haven’t gotten that far. I think that part’s a little easier for me. Dress shopping is a little different for her. She’s already found a dress, so that’s good.

How did you like the modeling process?

It’s a little different for me, but I enjoyed it. I’ve done a little bit before on the baseball side of things and a little bit with Adidas, but this is kind of different modeling because you’re wearing actual clothes rather than a baseball uniform. I enjoyed it. It was a little different for me but I always enjoy doing different things and having fun doing them.

[presto-gallery id=”82779804″ title=”The best MLB photos of 2016″ type=”presto”]

More MLB