When I was planning a sabbatical trip to Southeast Asia, I looked around to see if there might be any photography-related excursions along my route. I stumbled across a morning market photo tour in Ubud, Bali, that sounded intriguing. As it turned out, not only did the person offering these tours run them on a donation basis – with money going toward local animal charities – Mark Chaves is also a WordPress developer with a site hosted on WordPress.com! It seemed meant to be, so I signed up for a tour and hoped for clear weather.

When Mark asked ahead of time what kind of photography I’d like to focus on, I mentioned that I’d like to get better at street photography, but tend to feel shy about taking photos of people. He said this was a common problem, and that he’d compile some tips in a blog post. Within a few weeks he made good on his promise, and I found the post about how to approach “making” photos in public places extremely helpful, even inspiring: Strangers Are Friends We Haven’t Met Yet. I vowed to put into practice what I learned.

♦ ♦ ♦

It was my last day in Bali and I met Mark at 7am outside the bustling Pasar Ubud. While I’m far from a morning person, I knew it would be worth it!

Mark seemed to intimately know every nook and cranny of the market, pointing out details and interactions I never would have noticed on my own. He encouraged me to take lots of photos quickly, which helped me avoid overthinking and capture more spontaneous shots. He knew many of the regulars working the market, and made people smile when he asked if it was OK for me to take photos. We even stopped to greet some of the resident stray dogs and feed them the treats he’d brought along in a small plastic container.

Mark feeds a local stray dog

I’m so glad Google led me to Mark’s site that fateful day. It was a memorable experience, and I love the photos that resulted.

5 responses

  1. Your photos are wonderful in and of themselves – they give a very intimate look, in rich detail, at what it’s like in that market, and even what the people there are like. They absolutely evoke the sights, smells and tastes of the market! Lovely!

  2. Totally agree with Ellie. Your photography puts your viewer smack dab into the scene. Well done!! You’ve got a collection of amazing gems. Would you mind if I select a few and create a permanent gallery for you on balistreetphotographer.com?

    1. Thanks for your kind comments, Mark! Of course – please go ahead and use whatever you’d like. Thanks again for the amazing experience in Ubud.

  3. […] Learn more and check the full gallery on Kathryn’s site. Not to be missed […]

Leave a comment