Advertisement

Some things overheard in Jon Jones' corner at UFC 197

The UFC puts cameras in the corners for UFC pay-per-view events. Those cameras come with hot mics that capture a lot of things fans might not hear during the fight.

In the case of this past Saturday’s UFC 197, they were live when UFC light heavyweight Jon Jones was getting ready for his ultimately successful interim title bout against Ovince Saint Preux, and they caught a few interesting – and funny – things.

Mostly, it’s Jones’ longtime coach Greg Jackson, but a few other voices pop up in during the fight.

Here are a few highlights.

* * * *

Jon Jones, pre-fight (Joshua Dahl-USA TODAY Sports)

Jon Jones, pre-fight (Joshua Dahl-USA TODAY Sports)

Backstage before the fight

Jon Jones (screaming): I am the champion! I am the champion! I am the champion!

Let’s go! Oh yeah, baby. Lord God, I love you so much, lord God. I just thank you so much for the opportunity to be back here, use my gift that you’ve blessed me with, lord God. I thank you for these great men that you’ve picked for my life. I pray that we all have your wisdom tonight, lord God, strength, wisdom and power, lord God. Speed and finesse, lord God. Lord, I pray you watch over me and allow me to keep it fun and have a great time, and just use my blessings to the top of my ability. Speed and power, my God. I love you so much. I thank you so much. Let’s win. In Jesus’ name we pray. Amen.

Voice: Coach, I always like working with you guys, because it’s so easy. I don’t have to do anything.

Greg Jackson: That’s what the ladies say.

Jon Jones at UFC 197 (Joshua Dahl-USA TODAY Sports)

Jon Jones at UFC 197 (Joshua Dahl-USA TODAY Sports)

Pre-fight

Jackson (outside the cage): The mind is water. Water cuts everything. Rock, stone … your mind is water.

Round 1

Jackson: He’s too relaxed.

Round 2

Jackson: He’s a little off tonight. We can’t play this game.

Jackson: Play around, Jon! Play around!

Break

Jackson: Let’s find that waterfall. You have to loosen up a little bit. It’s all (grunting noises).

Mike Winkeljohn: That right leg is hurt bad. Use your movement, cause he can’t move because his leg is so bad.

Voice: Destroy his leg and be creative. Let’s go.

Round 3

Jackson: Yeah, that leg’s hurtin’. Yeah, he just needs to open up.

Jackson: We’ve got him on the horns of a dilemma. He can’t defend both.

Jon Jones at UFC 197 (Joshua Dahl-USA TODAY Sports)

Jon Jones at UFC 197 (Joshua Dahl-USA TODAY Sports)

Break

Jackson: I want you to feel water falling on your head and relax. Relax. You’re winning this fight. Relax. Listen. What you have to do is start opening up a little bit. Believe. Just believe. I guarantee your cardio is there, everything is there. Just believe.

Saint Preux corner: Remember the energy machine. You put your hand on the rail. You walk up the stairs. You feel the energy come down. You take the deep breaths. Every breath in fills you up. Every breath fills you out. This is your destiny.

Round 4

Jackson: Believe, Jon Jones, believe!

Voice: Are you going to become a traveling preacher? You sound like it.

Jackson: Oh, I think you would do it better.

Voice: We could do it together, make a lot of money. He’s going to start a new religion.

Jackson: All right, you tell me, and then we’ll preach it.

Jackson: Let’s go, Rashad! Mantis, mantis, mantis!

Break

Jackson: He’s close to breaking, which means he’s going to come out hard at you. He’s coming at you. You’re going to finish him this round, but he’s coming with everything he’s got.

Winkeljohn: Stay on his legs, that makes his hands fall. Stay on those side kicks to his legs, his hands fall. Then you can kick him in the head when he leans over.

Jon Jones at UFC 197 (Joshua Dahl-USA TODAY Sports)

Jon Jones at UFC 197 (Joshua Dahl-USA TODAY Sports)

Round 5

Jackson: This the most dangerous time. It’s the most dangerous time in the entire fight. I want to take him down. Let’s get him down, boys. Let’s work to get him down.

Jackson: I don’t know what that was, but whatever. OK.

Jackson: Babies babies babies! Hand position and pants him!

The Final Bell

Jackson: That’s our fight.

Israel Martinez: He did all right coach.

Jackson: Powerlifting’s a problem. He gasses. I only want to do an I-told-you-so dance right now.

For complete coverage of UFC 197, check out the UFC Events section of the site.

[sigallery id=”KWBfoWQJBfBynegpgj3AfK” title=”Jon Jones def. Ovince Saint Preux, UFC 197″ type=”sigallery”]

Be sure to visit the MMA Junkie Instagram page and YouTube channel to discuss this and more content with fans of mixed martial arts.

More Featured