Entertainment

6 reasons Tom Hanks is the new Bill Murray

No famous person on Earth has mastered the art of the random cameo quite like Bill Murray. The “Caddyshack” star has been known to hilariously crash everything from strangers’ engagement photos to Brooklyn house parties and even taking tickets at a minor league park in Minnesota.

But the Hollywood everyman might have some competition in the urban legend department when it comes to Tom Hanks.

After conquering the boob tube, Broadway and the silver screen, the 58-year-old actor seems to be channeling his “Bachelor Party” days.

With fun-loving — albeit more family-friendly — antics, good deeds and unlikely appearances, Hanks has been covering territory like a man running for office.

From helping to sell Girl Scout cookies last month to his latest — starring in Canadian pop singer Carly Rae Jepsen’s video — one never knows where Hanks will pop up next. Here, six reasons why Tom Hanks is the coolest dude in Hollywood.

He’s a music video star

While most people with an Academy Award would pooh-pooh being in a pop video, Hanks isn’t too good for any medium. He volunteered to star in Carly Rae Jepsen’s new video for “I Really Like You.” Jepsen says Hanks and her manager are pals, so when they were looking for a male lead, the Hollywood darling immediately put himself forward. In the video, he lip-syncs the bubble-gum lyrics and walks around the city being his jovial self, dishing out high-fives and fist bumps to strangers before joining a scrum of dancers.

Predictably, Jepsen says it was “one of the best days of [my] life.”

He earned his honor badge

Hanks might as well be an honorary Girl Scout. Last month, he came upon a troop of Girl Scouts selling cookies in Los Altos, Calif. After springing for a few boxes and donating $20, he hung around and helped sell the delicious treats by posing for selfies with fans who bought cookies from the adorable girls.

He’s the life of the party

The “Forrest Gump” star is no stick in the mud when it comes to weddings: The actor belted out Montell Jordan’s ’90s party anthem “This Is How We Do It” at Scooter Braun’s July wedding, and the endearing video made the rounds on the Internet.

He’s grateful

Last month, Hanks lost his credit card in the Big Apple, and it was promptly returned by a stranger. Not one to let a good deed go unnoticed, Hanks called out the good Samaritan on Twitter.

He’s kind to cabbies

 

View this post on Instagram

"So get this. I'm driving down Park Avenue one day and this guy waves for me, so I pull over and I ask him where he's going. He tells me 74th street, and I tell him that's too far for me, because my shift just ended, so he says 'thanks anyway' and walks away. But then I think about it, and I start feeling bad for the guy, cause hey– I got a conscience. So I call him back to the cab and tell him to hop in. And he gets in the car all excited, all animated, and he's talking about all these things. But he's got his cap pulled down way over his eyes, so I can't see who it is. But pretty soon I start to recognize his voice. And when we get to a light, I turn to him, and I look him in the eye, and I scream: "WIIIIIIILLLSSSSSOOOOOOON!!!" And that really got him. He started laughing hard. He sees that I've got this Ferrari hat on, and a Ferrari shirt too, so he starts calling me 'Mr. Ferrari.' The whole ride, he keeps calling me 'Mr. Ferrari.' So after we get to his destination, we snap a quick photo, and he goes on his way. And I think that's it. But that's not it, cause get this. Over the next few weeks, I just happen to randomly pick up people that know him. People who have acted with him before, people who work with him. And every time, I tell them: 'Tell Mr. Hanks that Mr. Ferrari says 'hello.'" Every time I say that. Then one day I'm driving, and I get a text from one of the people that I'd driven, and it says: 'Mr. Hanks wants to invite you to see his Broadway show.' So I bring my lady to the show, and we get to go backstage and everything, and after the show, we're waiting for him in his dressing room, and he walks in and screams: 'Mr. Ferrari!' Can you believe that story? And you wanna know the craziest thing? The name of his show was 'Lucky Guy.' How crazy is that? Cause that was me. A lucky guy!"

A post shared by Humans of New York (@humansofny) on

 

While Hanks was starring in “Lucky Guy” on Broadway, he flagged down a cabbie, who turned him away because he was ending his shift. The hack had second thoughts and picked him up anyway. The affable actor climbed in and started chatting with the driver for quite a bit until the man behind the wheel realized this fare was famous. After recognizing Hanks, the driver yelled, “WIIIIIIILLLSSSSSOOOOOOON!!!” referring to his role in “Cast Away.”

Before he dropped Hanks off, the pair posed for a selfie.

The driver would tell the story to other passengers, who happened to know the famous actor. It got back to Hanks, who invited the driver to “Lucky Guy” and met him backstage. The whole heartwarming account was posted this fall on the Humans of New York blog.

He gets down with the weather lady

In 2011, “Tomasito” danced with Chiquinquira Delgado, the weatherwoman on Univision. Even though he didn’t seem to understand a word of español, he kept his rhythm and his cool. His performance, according to Delgado, was “maravilloso.”