Politics

Donald Trump calls for boycott of Mexico

Surging in Republican presidential polls following his attacks on illegal immigration, Donald Trump is now advocating a US boycott of Mexico.

“I’m not going to Mexico. And I don’t think anybody from this country [should],” Trump said on the Rita Cosby WABC radio show.

“I think we should boycott Mexico, frankly.”

He blasted the Mexican government and court system as corrupt.

“I have a judgment for a million dollars in Mexico. I can’t collect it because the court system is so bad,” he said.

Trump has provoked a backlash for saying that Mexicans coming across the border are drug-runners and rapists.

On another front, Trump showed his soft side.

Sounding very much like President Obama, he said every American is entitled to health care.

“I want health care for everyone,” Trump said. “We have to take care of people that really can’t take care of themselves.

“You can say that’s not a conservative way. Well, if it’s not, that’s going to be a problem for me. But I don’t think it will be.”