Shopping

The best products for travel beauty emergencies, per a Sephora Beauty Director

Thankfully, most of us don’t run into 9-1-1 emergencies all that often. But, aside from the worst-case scenario, there are those emergencies that are merely inconvenient, sometimes inevitable, and always unwanted.

From spilling coffee on our white tees (read: best stain removers) to having a flat tire on the freeway, bad luck doesn’t discriminate.

What’s another type of emergency? Travel beauty emergencies. Those moments when you think, “Oh no, I don’t have that product on hand.”

Good news: Sephora offers same-day delivery that will get everyone through their summer travels with ease. And, real talk — we all know how dreadful it can be to go makeup or skincare-free in crucial moments; or, worse, the struggle to find replacements in an unfamiliar city.

With Sephora same-day delivery, shoppers can order their favorite beauty products and have them delivered straight to their doorstep (or hotel room) whenever they need them.

To help you best understand what products to have on hand in a flash (so you’re always prepared), we asked Sephora Beauty Director Melinda Solares to prescribe her top products to add to our toiletry bag. Consider it a fabulous first-aid kit.

1. Cay Skin Isle Glow Face Moisturizer SPF 45 with Sea Moss and Niacinamide

Cay Skin Isle Glow Face Moisturizer SPF 45 with Sea Moss and Niacinamide
Sephora

Whether it’s for the face, body, or lips, sunscreen is easily the most popular beauty product category that one may find themselves reaching for when traveling. There are a few reasons for this, one being that a broad-spectrum sunscreen with an SPF of 30 or higher is “one of the first lines of defense against the environmental aggressors on our skin, and it should also be reapplied every two hours, so it is helpful to keep it readily available for on-the-go,” Solares says.

Additionally, regardless of the weather at your destination, you’re likely spending more time out and about than usual, and most sunscreens these days offer more than one beauty benefit. Cay Skin offers an excellent example with the Isle Glow Face Moisturizer SPF 45, which includes sea moss and niacinamide.

“It’s a pearlescent, lightweight and antioxidant-packed daily face sunscreen that gives the skin a beautiful glow with sea moss to support the moisture barrier, hydrating nectar to moisturize, and niacinamide for skin tone and texture,” Solares highlights.


2. Charlotte Tilbury Magic Cream Moisturizer with Hyaluronic Acid Mini

Charlotte Tilbury Magic Cream Moisturizer with Hyaluronic Acid Mini
Sephora

“There has always been a collective love for miniatures, likely influenced by Sephora’s Beauty On The Fly section in-store and mini size assortment online, filled with all the minis you could hope for,” Solares notes. Additionally, Sephora’s focus on planet-positive beauty has helped to launch brands’ product refills, making not only full-size products but also minis reusable.

“In addition to my full-size moisturizer I use at home, I can purchase a mini size of the Charlotte Tilbury Magic Cream Moisturizer with hyaluronic acid for my travels,” she adds. “When either runs out, I can simply purchase the Charlotte Tilbury Magic Cream Moisturizer refill ($90) to refill my full size and scoop a few dollops into my mini as well.”

For more, check out our full Charlotte Tilbury review — featuring an interview with Queen CT herself.


3. Sephora Favorites Luxe Vibes Luxury Beauty Sampler Set

Sephora Favorites Luxe Vibes Luxury Beauty Sampler Set
Sephora

We also cannot forget Sephora Favorites (seriously, go check out all the boxed set goodies for the perfect gifts and travel-sized items).

“Sephora set a high standard for mini sets that pack a lot of punch,” Solares shares. “The Sephora Favorites Mini Luxe Vibes beauty set is a $200 value and makes the perfect jet-setter kit, as it is filled with travel-friendly skincare, hair and makeup essentials.”

Moreover, it’s a bundle that includes top brands — from Armani Beauty and Givenchy to Gucci and Kérastase.


4. Fenty Beauty by Rihanna Mini Pro Filt’r Instant Retouch Setting Powder

Fenty Beauty by Rihanna Mini Pro Filt'r Instant Retouch Setting Powder
Sephora

“I was a part of my dad’s wedding in Sedona, Arizona, and I underestimated the amount of time it would take me to do the bridal party’s makeup before the big event,” Solares reflects, thinking about a beauty emergency she got into once before. “So, I left my four-day unwashed hair and figured I would shower and get ready last. I don’t know what I was thinking! Long story short, I was unable to shower in the time I had left, and my hair was looking greasier than ever!”

The solution? She reached into her makeup kit and grabbed the Fenty Beauty by Rihanna Mini Pro Filt’r Instant Retouch Setting Powder and a big, fluffy powder brush. “I sectioned my hair and began dusting the powder into my roots and watched as it absorbed the oil as I worked it in with my fingertips. Traveling and forgot your dry shampoo? Grab your mini-setting powder to save the day!”


5. By Rosie Jane Leila Lou Perfume Travel Spray

By Rosie Jane Leila Lou Perfume Travel Spray
Sephora

“I always recommend a handful of minis in your carry-on so that you can have the essentials just in case your checked bag gets lost,” Solares advises. “It has happened to me multiple times! Additionally, I love to pack a couple of self-care reminders for my travel days; long drives, airports, and travel, in general, can be exhausting.”

As a mental health advocate who experiences depression and anxiety, Solares encourages packing something in your carry-on that helps you to have a moment of self-love and presence. “I love bringing my By Rosie Jane Leila Lou Perfume Travel Spray for a sensory pick-me-up,” she explains. “I’ll spray a small amount of my wrist to start a quick break work exercise by breathing it in slowly, bringing me back into the present and back into my body.”


6. SEPHORA COLLECTION Hydrating Face Mask

SEPHORA COLLECTION Hydrating Face Mask
Sephora

Self-care can also be in the form of a SEPHORA COLLECTION Hydrating Face Mask for the plane (basically, “whatever speaks to you” is Solares’ advice). Even better, these popular face masks come in a variety of options to cater to your skin type, desired scent note and preferred ingredients.

Not to mention, for $6 each, they’re perfect for same-day delivery for a girls’ trip or a serious skin dehydration emergency.


7. Tower 28 Beauty Mini SOS Daily Rescue Facial Spray

Tower 28 Beauty Mini SOS Daily Rescue Facial Spray
Sephora

“Hands down, one of my favorite beauty products for hot temperatures is a face mist,” Solares shares exclusively with The Post. “Let me tell you, nothing is more refreshing than returning from a day in the heat, pulling your face mist out of the fridge and dousing your skin in chilled skincare.”

Her go-to is the Tower 28 Beauty Mini SOS Daily Rescue Facial Spray because it’s fantastic for after-sun care. “The formula’s hypochlorous acid is also naturally produced by the body’s immune system as a first line of defense to fight the appearance of redness,” she adds. “It soothes, nourishes, and cares for sensitive or stressed skin — leaving it looking clear, soft, and healthy.”

What’s more, while visiting her nephews recently in Hawaii, Solares missed her entire upper back when applying sunscreen, and this spray proved to be a savior. “My sunburn was practically gone the next day,” she remembers.


8. Supergoop! Mini (Re) Setting Refreshing Mist SPF 40

Supergoop! Mini (Re) Setting Refreshing Mist SPF 40
Sephora

“I tend to wear more makeup in cooler climates since it won’t melt off as easily,” Solares says. “So, I love to pack the Supergoop! Mini (Re) Setting Refreshing Mist SPF 40 to reapply my face SPF every two hours without messing up my makeup!”

For less than $25, it’s an SPF-spiked mist that’ll not only help give your skin much-needed hydration and protection, but it’s also water- and sweat-resistant for up to 40 minutes. Score.


Check out the New York Post Shopping section for more content.