Soccer

Ashlyn Harris denies cheating on Ali Krieger in raw divorce post

Former USWNT goalie Ashlyn Harris is addressing the fallout of her divorce from her wife, Gotham FC champion Ali Krieger, one month after news of their separation emerged.

In a lengthy post shared Saturday on Instagram, the 38-year-old Harris elaborated on the pair’s decision to part ways and maintained she “was always faithful” in her marriage to Krieger, 39.

“Several weeks ago, a process that had been ongoing privately for some time became public. Ending a relationship after almost 13 years of friendship, teammate-ship, marriage, and co-parenting (many of them good years) is a decision that was not made lightly,” Harris wrote.

“We agreed to center our children, continue therapy, separate, and to move forward with our lives. Two happy families are always better than one unhappy one. This process is never easy, but we were making our way through.”

Harris — who shares two young children with Krieger — initially filed for divorce in September 2023 after nearly four years of marriage, according to court docs obtained by Page Six.

Ashlyn Harris and Ali Krieger in February 2023. Getty Images

Shortly after the divorce was revealed in October, Page Six confirmed that month that Harris and actress Sophia Bush are dating.

The “One Tree Hill” alum, 41, filed for divorce from husband Grant Hughes in August after one year of marriage.

Harris stated Saturday the “online hate” she has received “has devastated her my mental health.”

Ali Krieger and Ashlyn Harris in November 2022. Getty Images

“Someday my kids are going to be able to read the hate that strangers on the internet wrote, all because those strangers had an unsolicited opinion on my health and happiness? What are we doing here?” Harris posted.

“People have run with a narrative that’s unbearably painful. Not all marriages last forever. Ours did not. For many reasons. And while I understand that the false narratives about why might feel juicer or make a better headline, they are simply not true. Let me be clear: I did not step out on my marriage. I was always faithful in my marriage, if not always totally happy. Like in many partnerships, there was work and therapy and processing done. None of this happened on a whim.”

Harris added the vitriol has made “this complex and difficult experience harder than I could have imagined.”

“I want to be clear that pushing someone to the edge? That isn’t a win. No one ‘wins’ here,” she shared.

For Harris, her priority remains her family.

“My priority is, as it always has been, my kids,” she said of daughter Sloane, 2, and son Ocean, 1.

“My priority is being a good co-parent to them with Ali. Despite this current darkness, there have been years of love between us. And our kids are the best part of it all. They deserve two healthy and happy parents, and that’s what matters most.”

Harris concluded her message by asking online critics to “take a breath and treat me and my family with some humanity.”

Ali Krieger and Ashlyn Harris share two young children. Getty Images

“We are all in pain. I share all of this to remind people that bullying anyone about a personal decision, especially when that bullying is rooted in lies, really hurts. I’m hoping that instead of containing this cruelty you can remember the simple truth that I’m a human being, a mom, and a good person just trying my best.”