Fashion & Beauty

My simple, 2-step hack will save your dry, crusty lips this winter

No need to be cracked and chapped.

A self-care influencer named Angie, who runs @cosywithangie on TikTok, revealed a cost-friendly lip-care hack to prevent chapped winter smackers.

“[Here’s] how to not have dry lips this winter without spending a ton of money on expensive lip masks and scrubs,” she shared in the clip with 1.2 million views.

In a 9-second video posted on Dec. 16, Angie demonstrated her lip-care routine by patting her mouth with petroleum jelly.

“Friendly reminder that vaseline is an occlusive so if you pat some water onto your lips and then apply your lip balm on top before you go to sleep, you’ll quite literally never have dry lips this winter,” the clip overlay read.

However, Angie clarified that you don’t have to use Vaseline — you can utilize any “occlusive of your choice” that’s within your price range, she said. She used an old lip balm for the practically free lip regimen.

The Post reached out to Angie for comment.

Angie, who runs @cosywithangie
Angie, who runs @cosywithangie on TikTok, revealed an affordable lip care hack to prevent chapped winter lips.

own suggestions.

“Better to dampen your lips, apply moisturizer and then use the Vaseline to lock in the moisture,” suggested one.

“I have a spray bottle [with] water in it. I mist my face between the steps of my skin care gotta lock that moisture in,” recommended a beauty lover.

“I actually love this idea,” the self-proclaimed self-care expert replied.

“I did this to my entire face when I was going through menopause and my skin was so dry it hurts. Vaseline forever!!” another viewer applauded.

Meanwhile, one person admitted their lips need severe moisture.

“Bro, my lips are so dry that the whole lip literally peels off,” wrote one jokester.

@cosywithangie

how to not have dry lips this winter without spending a ton of money on expensive lip masks and scrubs xx P.S. you don’t have to use vaseline. I know people are being really careful of what they’re purchasing right now, so you can just use the occlusive of your choice. I’ve just had this lip balm for quite a while so it’s what I have on hand already🫶🏽 #drylips #skincaretips

♬ maria – K7SSLAND.MP3™
Angie, who runs @cosywithangie
She claims people do not have to use Vaseline for the two-step method but encourages them to use something they already have.

In a follow-up video posted on TikTok, Angie revealed how people can recover their already chapped lips.

“All you need is your toothbrush,” she said. “Every once in a while, I would say no more than once a week, you’re just going to take your toothbrush after you brush your teeth and you’re going to give your lips a little scrubby scrub [with water].”

She claimed that will “remove majority of the dead skin that’s on your lips.”