Steve Serby

Steve Serby

MLB

Luis Gil breaks down sudden Yankees stardom: ‘Inevitable’

Yankees breakout pitching sensation Luis Gil takes a swing at some Q&A with Post columnist Steve Serby, through translator Marlon Abreu.

Q: What is it like being a star in New York?

A: When you say a star, man, that’s a heavy word. We have some guys that are really, really, really talented. I don’t consider myself a star. I just try to do my job here and try to help this team as much as I can. At the same time, you’re playing for the Yankees, world known. So it’s inevitable, you walk around and people will recognize you from time to time because of how many fans the team has.

Q: What is it like being a fan favorite?

A: I definitely got to say I felt the support from our fans. It’s great, man, to have the fans behind you. A big thank-you to them for showing up every time, coming out to the Stadium see me pitch and being behind me and then to be there for me.

Q: What would it mean to you to make the All-Star team?

A: It would mean a lot, for sure, if I’m given the opportunity to participate in the All-Star Game. It’s an opportunity to meet all those players and spend some time them, be in the same room with them, and at the same time, learn a little bit from them, learn a little bit how they see the game from their point of view. I would be excited and happy if I’m given that opportunity.

Luis Gil #81 of the New York Yankees throws a pitch during the first inning against the Dodgers. Robert Sabo for NY Post

Q: What are two or three reasons for your success this season?

A: I think the experience that you gain every time you pitch. It’s like you’re acquiring knowledge every time you face a really good team or a really good lineup, so that experience from one start to the next has been very important helping me develop and mature as a pitcher in this league. The other point that’s very important is the work that I’ve done with the pitching coach, and having Gerrit Cole around to be able to transfer some of his knowledge and give me some pointers that I can put in use I think has also been very beneficial to me.

Q: Any one pitch you think you’ve made the most improvement in over the past year?

A: More than just a single pitch, I would say the command of all three I think has put me in a better position to execute the game plan and more effective on the mound.

Q: How also you describe your mentality on the mound?

A: Above anything, a high sense of focus. Do my homework and try your best to execute whatever mix I’m using that day to be highly focused on it and try to command and be as consistent as possible.

Q: What if it like when you have confidence in all your pitches, does it make you feel like a “King of the Gil”?

A: Those days when you’re able to command your pitches exactly how you want, it’s a sense of accomplishment because you work so hard to get to the mound and to be able to be as consistent as possible, execute pitches … it’s exciting. That’s as close as I can get to my nickname, yeah.

Q: If Aaron Boone needed you at some point to pitch out of the bullpen, how would you feel about that?

A: My whole career I’ve been a starter. I’ve trained for many, many, many years as a starter, and I think right now the plan is to keep me as a starter. That’s how I’ve been helping the team, starting games and giving my team the best chance possible to win a game.

Q: What makes Juan Soto so special?

A: To give you a simple answer, man, he was just given God-given talent. It’s very unique talent.

Q: How would you try to convince him to stay with the Yankees?

A: (Laugh) That’s a tough task for me! For sure we all want him to stay. It’s no secret. We all wish that when the season is over that he’s able to stay with us.

Q: Describe pitching to Aaron Judge in spring training.

A: I think it was back in ’21 actually. But I remember being very uncomfortable pitching to him (laugh).

Q: Describe pitching coach Matt Blake.

A: Oh man. Really good guy, really good person, and he’s an amazing coach.

Q: What is the biggest adversity you had to overcome?

A: Definitely I would say had to be when I was injured, it ended up being Tommy John surgery, and recuperating from that injury takes a long time. You got to have a lot of patience. You got to work extremely hard, you gotta have a strong mind. So definitely the toughest obstacle for me to get back to where I am today.

Q: What was the low point emotionally for you during that time?

A: Definitely the moment that I received news [May 2022] that it had to be a Tommy John surgery, that I was going to be away from the field for a long time. That was definitely the lowest point. At the same time, after the news and after surgery, my daughter was born, so it also helped me through that moment, having my little girl being born and being able to spend time with her.

Q: Did you fear that your career could be over?

A: I never felt that it was going to be the end. I’m a man of strong faith and have a strong faith in God. I put everything in His hands, so I felt that it wasn’t the end of my career, but I did have doubts. I didn’t know if I was going to be able to get back to exactly the point where I was before I was injured. That’s why it was really important for me to work extremely hard, to focus on the work that I needed to do after surgery to help me get back to being as close as possible to where I was before, or even better, if I could.

Q: Who are some pitchers you liked growing up?

A: When I was a younger kid, I used to like watching Yordano Ventura, he was great on the mound, rest in peace. And today, I got to say Gerrit Cole. I’m lucky enough to have him around and to see him up close and learn from him.

Q: How would you describe Luis Gil off the field?

A: I’m just a homebody, watching TV, watching comedies, watching a little bit of YouTube and some podcasts here and there.

Q: What does Father’s Day mean to you?

A: When you talk about your parents, he was one of the people responsible for bringing me into this world. Me being a father myself, it’s a tremendous responsibility to bring up a child, make sure they have a good upbringing and making sure they’re good people in the future.

Luis Gil #81 of the New York Yankees is greeted by his teammates in the dugout after he is pulled from the game during the 7th inning when the New York Yankees played the Seattle Mariners Thursday, May 23, 2024 at Yankee Stadium. Robert Sabo for NY Post

Q: What is easier, changing a diaper or pitching to Shohei Ohtani?

A: (Laugh) I’m going to say pitch to Ohtani there.

Q: Are you good at changing diapers?

A: Yeah, I have some experience with it. But I got to be honest, I change them when there’s light work. If it’s heavy work and messy, I might need help.

Q: Describe your 2-year-old daughter Samantha’s personality.

A: You got to be on your toes with her. She has a lot of energy. She’s very alert and very smart, so you have your keep your eyes on her.

Q: What drives you?

A: Definitely my family. My family is my driving force behind me. My daughter is a big sense of motivation. I’m pushing through every day just to be able to take care of my family, hopefully give them a better life. That’s what I use every day to keep on working very hard.

Q: What was your dream growing up in the Dominican Republic as a boy?

A: It was a little different for me because my parents used to take me to the field just to play the game and have some fun activity to do. As you get a little older, you start getting better, then you start seeing the possibility of maybe signing with a professional baseball team and starting a professional baseball career. The road and the expectation starts to grow and … thank God I’m here today.

Q: What advice would you give to young boys from the Dominican who dream of bringing a major league pitcher?

A: My message would be that I was a young kid just like them with high hopes and dreams. You have to work hard, you have to maintain your dream and you can never give up. Have a strong faith in what you’re doing, and keep going.

Q: Favorite New York City things?

A: I haven’t been out around the city that much. I got to go out a little more to give you a better answer. Definitely the best experience in New York City is pitching at Yankee Stadium.

Q: Two dinner guests?

A: Ozuna, Jordano Ventura.

Q: Favorite movie?

A: Any Jackie Chan movie.

Q: Favorite actor?

A: Jackie Chan.

Q: How did you become a fan of Jackie Chan?

A: Ever since I was a kid, I used to watch his movies, and I really enjoyed the combination of an action movie mixed with comedy in there, and I think he does that very well.

Q: Favorite actress?

A: Ximena Duque.

Q: Favorite comedian?

A: There’s two comedians from the Dominican Republic, Raymond and Miguel. They do sketch comedy.

Q: Favorite meal?

A: I got to go with the classic rice and beans and meat.

Q: What are you most proud of about where you’ve come from and where you are now?

A: I think it has to do with being able to go through different obstacles. Falling down and finding a way to keep getting up and keep pushing through and finding a way to improve. I think that’s what I’m most proud of.

Luis Gil #81 of the New York Yankees reacts after ending the first inning when the New York Yankees played the Los Angeles Dodgers. Robert Sabo for NY Post

Q: Have you thought about the Cy Young Award?

A: Everybody would love to win one, but to be quite honest with you, I’m not thinking about it at all. I mentioned before concentrating and being locked in on what you’re doing on your next start is super-important for me.

Q: Have you dreamed about pitching in a World Series, and can this team win a World Series?

A: Yeah, I’ve dreamed about it a lot. Who hasn’t? It’s the ultimate goal — right? — or us baseball players. And yeah, if God gives me the chance to pitch in a World Series, I’m going to be right there putting all my effort into it and looking to be victorious.