MLB

Birthday wishes for Derek Jeter with Yankees legend set to turn 50

The Post talked with several prominent figures from Derek Jeter’s baseball career to deliver birthday messages as he is set to turn 50 on Wednesday.

Kevin Burkhardt, Jeter’s broadcast partner on Fox

Derek is so many things to so many people, but to me he is the personification of class. He is one of the most down-to-earth people I’ve ever spent time with, he just happens to be one of the greatest players of all time. Welcome to the 5-0 club Captain!

Michael Kay, Yankees broadcaster

Hey Derek, Happy 50th. I can’t believe you are at this milestone birthday as I will always remember you as the teenager, fresh off being the sixth pick in the draft, that came into the Yankee radio booth to talk with me and John Sterling.

After that interview, I went down to the Yankee clubhouse following the game and asked Buck Showalter what he thought of the new kid. His answer, all these years later, still resonates with me and is applicable in 2024. Buck said, “Well, we know he can play, but I will tell you this, as long as he is a Yankee, he will never embarrass the organization and will always do and say the right thing.” I asked Showalter how he would know that and he quickly said, “I met his parents. That’s always the tell. They raised him the right way to be respectful of others and he will never do the wrong thing because of that.”

Inside Derek Jeter’s surprise 50th birthday party thrown by wife Hannah. Derek Jeter/Instagram

And Buck was right.

As I told you the day the Yankees retired your number, thank you for letting me piggyback on your greatness. For some strange reason, in my 10 years on the radio, despite only doing three innings of play by play each game, I seemed to be on the mic for most of your big moments (I’m sure to the dismay of Sterls!) I got to call Mr. November and the flip play in Oakland.

And then when I got to the TV side, I was able to document your last hit at the Stadium, your last hit in Boston and, of course, your perfect Jeter moment, your 3,000th hit.

Alex Rodriguez, David Ortiz and Derek Jeter have a laugh during the television pre game show before a game between the New York Yankees and the Los Angeles Dodgers at Yankee Stadium on June 08, 2024 in New York City. Getty Images

So thank you for letting my voice be connected to many of your greatest hits. It was and is an honor and a privilege to be associated with you even in this small way, adding a soundtrack to your career.

Even at the age of 50, your life has made history with an exclamation point!

Happy birthday!

Alex Rodriguez, Jeter’s broadcast partner on Fox and former teammate

Derek, where has the time gone?

I remember when we were teenagers just hoping to make it to the big leagues.

So grateful for our friendship that has spanned over 30 years and even more lucky to call you a teammate once again, this time at Fox Sports.

Happy 50th Birthday my friend.

Hal Steinbrenner, Yankees managing partner

Congratulations on your 50th, Derek. Thank you for the leadership you exhibited throughout your incredible career in pinstripes, and for your many contributions to this organization. I hope you and your family enjoy this big day!

Joe Girardi, former teammate and manager

I would tell him, ‘The game still needs you. Make sure your voice is somewhere.’ He’s fantastic as a broadcaster, so whether it’s as that or as an owner or whatever he wants to do, I know your family needs you, too, but keep your fingerprints on the game. He’s done it all and I still think he can within the game: He could run the game, manage a club or run a team. Whatever he wants to do.

Aaron Boone, Yankees manager and Jeter teammate in 2003

His confidence — that’s what really stood out to me. He was really, really confident, especially in the biggest moments. He just had a presence to him. Another thing that stood out was if he was leading off and he’d make an out or something, he’d come back to the dugout and you’d ask him about the pitcher, what’s this guy got? Every time, he’d be like, ‘This guy freaking sucks!’ He would always say that.

Hal Steinbrenner speaking to the media after practice at Steinbrenner Field, the Yankees Spring training complex in Tampa Florida. Charles Wenzelberg / New York Post
Derek Jeter waves to the fans when he and Yankees alumni were introduced and took the field at the 75th edition of Old-Timersâ Day. Robert Sabo for NY Post

The other thing, which is a famous quote he said to me a couple times, he goes, ‘Every now and then the ghosts show up during the regular season, but they definitely show up in October,’ talking about Yankee Stadium.

When I got traded over, obviously knew he was a good player. I came away saying he’s better than I even expected. But his confidence that he played the game with was special.

David Cone, former teammate

My message to him would be ‘Thank you.’ He showed up and we took off. He was the missing piece to us winning four championships in five years. He was in the middle of it all and none of us would be where we are without him.

Aaron Boone reacts after returning to the game after his sonâs graduation during the sixth inning Baltimore Orioles at Yankee stadium. JASON SZENES FOR THE NEW YORK POST
Derek Jeter #2 of the New York Yankees in action against the Cleveland Indians at Yankee Stadium on August 8, 2014. Getty Images

He was so polished, even when he first came to the big leagues in ’95 when Tony Fernandez was out. We got a glimpse then and then from the first day of ’96 on, he never missed a beat. Now, I think he’s kind of finding his way again in the game. I know he wanted to be an owner and it didn’t work out in Miami, but hopefully he finds a role in the game, whether it’s broadcasting or anything else.

David Ortiz, former rival and current broadcast partner on Fox

My brother turning 50 … Wow! Happy birthday, brother. Thank you for being so humble, and I really appreciate your friendship. Enjoy your time with your family and happy birthday, my brother.