Lifestyle

Plane passenger shares peeve of flying next to ‘entitled’ men: ‘I don’t even know you!’

We’re all familiar with the battle for the plane armrest — but what about legroom?

It seems like even this bit of personal space is becoming a vanishing commodity, as a woman recently had to sit next to a man on a flight who ‘manspreaded’ the entire time.

After the woman posted the incriminating photo on Facebook, he’s been called out for his selfish behavior and blatant disregard for plane etiquette.

“I don’t even know you”

“Why do so many guys on planes think they can spread out and consume other people’s space?” the frustrated jetsetter wrote.

She then shared a photo of the man’s legs pressed right up against her own so his knee touched the back of the chair in front of her.

The woman posted this incriminating photo of the manspreading guy next to her. News.com.au

“This guy has his whole left leg in my leg space,” she explained.

“C’mon! I don’t even know you! I hate not having an aisle seat.”

“Push him back into his own corner”

Hundreds took to the comments to condemn the man’s ‘entitled’ act, with one person saying, “This is almost as infuriating as mansplaining,” and another added: “The audacity!”

“Nothing more gross than a stranger’s leg in contact with yours. Especially a bare leg. Trigger for me!” shared someone else.

“Yep, why is it always men who think they can invade your space? Be subtle and push him back into his own corner,” another Facebook user insisted.

The woman was outraged that her row mate felt entitled to take up her space. Pollyana Ventura

Others agreed that the woman should have fought back. 

“I’m done moving for men. When walking in public spaces, I don’t move out of their way anymore. Men expect us to move. Nope. F–k that,” said one.

Then someone else shared: “This is why I always try to get the aisle seat so I can move my legs away.”

Meanwhile, commenters revealed other ways they get around being stuck in situations like this. 

Commenters suggested ways to get around the issue. izusek

“If I arrive first, I always put my leg at the edge of the boundary and don’t move an inch to claim the ground,” one explained. 

But others said that passengers shouldn’t have to deal with this, and it was the airlines who were at fault.

“This is the fault of airlines making the seats too close together,” said one. 

And another said: “I blame the greedy airlines. The seating space is ridiculously small.

“People have an impossible time fitting and not everyone can afford business class.”