MLB

Christian Scott turning Triple-A strides into more Mets trust

Hard work pays off.

The Mets’ promising pitching prospect, Christian Scott, is set to take the mound Saturday in a clash against the Colorado Rockies.

It will be his third start since returning from the Syracuse Mets.

“Any time you can put a big league uniform on and compete against these guys, it’s a great opportunity,” Scott said.

Prior to July 3, Scott spent time at the Triple-A level, with the organization aiming to cut down on the righty’s innings.

Christian Scott will start for the Mets on Saturday against the Rockies.
Christian Scott will start for the Mets on Saturday against the Rockies. AP

During his stint with Syracuse, the 25-year-old didn’t throw more than five innings in any game.

Nonetheless, Scott knew grit and resilience would help him prosper.

“I’ve been stacking good days and taking each one as they come,” Scott said. “I don’t look too far ahead in the future or in the past. I just try to focus on the day.”

Those days have led to the Mets calling his number, giving him the chance to shine under the brightest lights.

The 6-foot-4 hurler has seen steadfast improvement over his first two games back with the Mets.

“It’s really just going out there and trusting my stuff,” Scott said.

In both starts since his return from Triple-A, Scott pitched 5 ²/₃ innings and gave up four and two earned runs, respectively.

“I work really hard on making my stuff as good as it can possibly be to try to go out,” Scott said. “So it’s good when I’m on the mound. It’s me trusting my stuff.”

His recent outings caught the attention of manager Carlos Mendoza — who said Scott has been “really good” — and from around the league, as MLB Pipeline has ranked Scott as the 38th-best prospect.

Christian Scott's work in Triple-A has paid off since getting called back up.
Christian Scott’s work in Triple-A has paid off since getting called back up. USA TODAY Sports via Reuters Con

The blend of his work and attention gained has bolstered Scott’s confidence level.

“I feel like I can get anybody out at any time,” Scott said.