NFL

Jets’ Garrett Wilson ‘excited’ by Davante Adams rumors: ‘He’s one of those’

Garrett Wilson has seen the chatter about the Jets potentially making a move for Raiders wideout Davante Adams and he would welcome him to the receiver room.

“I see that. I’m excited. I’m with all of it,” Wilson said Friday at the Garrett Wilson Youth Football Camp in Morristown, N.J. “Anyone we can get into the facility to help this team win games, I’m with it and he’s one of those.”

The Adams rumors have been persistent since the Jets traded for Aaron Rodgers last year.

Garrett Wilson with campers at Delbarton School in Morristown, N.J. on July 12, 2024. Bill Kostroun/New York Post

The Jets tried to acquire Adams before last season and again at the trade deadline but the Raiders did not want to move him.

There is no indication that anything has changed but the Adams talk has reheated this week after Rodgers said, “I love Davante. I can’t wait to play with him again,” Thursday at a golf tournament in Lake Tahoe, Nev.

For now, Wilson is preparing for a Jets season where he is the clear No. 1 receiver and he is ready for training camp to begin.

The Jets’ first practice is July 24.

“I just want to get going,” Wilson said. “I just want to get started. I’m anxious. Every time we get to take the field, every time I get a chance to go out there and play, it’s a blessing. I just want another opportunity to kind of redeem ourselves a little bit.”

Wilson said he still feels the sting of the 7-10 season last year and wants to show the Jets are better than that.

“We played how we did,” Wilson said. “The beautiful thing about it is, I have another opportunity to do it this year. I do feel like I need to [redeem myself] a little bit.”

Wilson has been outstanding in his first two seasons despite a rotating cast at quarterback.

Davante Adams has been linked with a move to the Jets. AP
Garrett Wilson with campers at Delbarton School in Morristown, N.J. on July 12, 2024. Bill Kostroun/New York Post

But the wins have been hard to find.

After going 14-20 in his first two years, Wilson has a simple definition for a successful season.

“We’re in the playoffs,” Wilson said when asked what success looks like this year.

For the Jets to make the playoffs, Wilson knows he will have to deliver.

“I think I’m a part of this team that needs to play well to win. I’m ready to do that,” Wilson said. “If we do end up winning the games like I think we will, the rest of it will take care of itself.”

Wilson said he and Rodgers have talked during the downtime since the team ended the spring offseason program.

They have not gotten together but Wilson is confident they will hit the ground running in camp.

Aaron Rodgers (R.) and Davante Adams were teammates on the Packers. AP

“We both had a productive offseason and that’s what matters,” he said. “We’re going to pick up where we left off here come training camp.”

The Jets offense has a chance to be much improved this year with a healthy Rodgers and the addition of Mike Williams opposite Wilson and a rebuilt offensive line.

“It’s going to be as good as we go out there and make it to be,” Wilson said. “We’ve got the opportunity to do everything. We had really good OTAs. On Sundays, it’s another story. You’ve got to go out and play football and play it well. That’s our goal. I feel like we will but we’ve got to go out and do it.”

Garrett Wilson is looking for redemption entering his third season with the Jets. Bill Kostroun/New York Post

Wilson spent Friday at Delbarton School in Morristown going through drills with about 500 kids wearing T-shirts with his No. 5 on them.

“This is everything,” Wilson said. “Being able to give back to the community that supports you and makes you who you are is what it’s all about it. I knew how much this meant to me when I was that age. It’s more special for me than it is for them to be able to do something like this and have the turnout that we have.”