Movies

Rebel Wilson says she lost her virginity at 35: ‘You shouldn’t feel pressure as a young person’

Rebel Wilson holding a copy of her memoir.
Rebel Wilson lost her virginity at 35.Instagram/@rebelwilson

Rebel Wilson revealed that she lost her virginity at 35 and wants her experience to be a “positive message” to younger people.

“Not everybody has to lose their virginity as a teenager,” the “Pitch Perfect” star, now 44, told People ahead of the release of her new memoir, “Rebel Rising.”

“People can wait till they’re ready or wait till they’re a bit more mature,” she added. “And I think that could be a positive message. You obviously don’t have to wait until you’re in your thirties like me, but you shouldn’t feel pressure as a young person.”

The “Pitch Perfect” star wants her experience to be a “positive message” to younger people. rebelwilson/Instagram
“Not everybody has to lose their virginity as a teenager,” the “Pitch Perfect” star, now 44, told People ahead of the release of her new memoir, “Rebel Rising.” rebelwilson/Instagram

Wilson said she used to avoid the topic of being a virgin as a teenager due to feeling “embarrassed.”

“There was one vague time, I think I told my best friend, ‘Oh, yeah, I just did it’ to just get it over with when I was like 23,'” she recalled. “Just to really avoid the questions.”

The “Senior Year” actress — who called herself a “late bloomer” — said she would sometimes “leave the room” when conversations about having sex would arise.

“And then the people that said, ‘Oh, at 24, it’s so late.’ And then I’m sitting here thinking, ‘Oh my god, my number’s 35. What the hell? I’m going to look like the biggest loser,'” she recounted.

Wilson said she used to avoid the topic of being a virgin as a teenager due to feeling “embarrassed.” rebelwilson/Instagram
Wilson confirmed her engagement to her partner, Ramona Agruma, in February 2023. rebelwilson/Instagram

Now that Wilson is in her 40s, she feels like she would’ve “explored” her sexuality more if she had been born 20 years later.

“I just knew I was attracted to men, and that was the normal thing,” she said.

“And so when I started opening myself up probably more after my father’s death and realizing, oh, even though I’d seen marriage as a terrible thing and waste of time, I started opening myself up to that. And then only years later, meeting women and having feelings for a woman, and that, I just think it’s a sign of where society kind of was.”

Wilson confirmed her engagement to her partner, Ramona Agruma, in February 2023.

The comedian welcomed her first child, daughter Royce, via surrogate in November 2022. Instagram/@rebelwilson
“Rebel Rising” is out on April 2. Simon & Schuster

“We said YES! 💗💗” she gushed in her Instagram caption. “Thank you @tiffanyandco for the stunning ring 💍 and to Bob Iger and the incredible team at Disneyland @disneyweddings for pulling off this magical surprise!”

Wilson also welcomed her first child, daughter Royce, via surrogate in November 2022.

“Rebel Rising” is out on April 2.