TV

Christina Applegate: How I want to spend ‘the days I have left’ amid MS battle

Christina Applegate shared how she wants to spend her final days amid her battle with multiple sclerosis.

“There are things I want to do with the days I have left in life,” the “Dead to Me” star wrote on X early Wednesday. “I want to work with Shirley MacLaine And do shots with cher! And yes my days are so big. Just saying.”

Applegate, 52, announced in August 2021 that she had been diagnosed with MS, which is a chronic autoimmune disease that affects the central nervous system or brain and spinal cord.

Christina Applegate shared what she wants to do with the days she has “left” amid her multiple sclerosis battle. Getty Images
The “Dead to Me” star said she wants “to work with Shirley MacLaine.” AFP via Getty Images

“Hi friends. A few months ago I was diagnosed with MS. It’s been a strange journey,” she wrote on X at the time.

“But I have been so supported by people that I know who also have this condition. It’s been a tough road. But as we all know, the road keeps going. Unless some a–hole blocks it.”

Since her diagnosis, the actress has been transparent with her fans about how the illness has affected her daily life and career.

Applegate also wants to “do shots with Cher.” Getty Images
“And yes my days are so big. Just saying,” she wrote on X Wednesday. Christina Applegate/X

In November 2022, Applegate shared that she gained 40 pounds and could not walk without a cane due to the disease.

“I’m never going to accept this,” she told the New York Times. “I’m pissed.”

The “Married… with Children” star also shared that she is now wearing diapers because she cannot fully control her bowels due to her MS and from eating a salad contaminated with fecal matter.

In August 2021, Applegate announced she had been diagnosed with MS. Getty Images for Critics Choice Association
In November 2022, she shared that she gained 40 pounds and could not walk without a cane. / SplashNews.com

“Someone else’s poop went into my mouth, and I ate it,” she said on her “MeSsy” podcast in April.

“Didn’t know it happened, and having MS at 3 o’clock in the morning and trying to change your sheets, it’s not fun but this brings me to my next point, which we can talk about: I’m wearing diapers.”

Additionally, Applegate said she has 30 lesions on her brain and had lost circulation in her legs during an MS relapse.

Due to the many ailments she has endured, the Emmy winner recently admitted she does not “enjoy living.”

Due to the many health issues Applegate has endured, she recently admitted she does not “enjoy living.” Getty Images
However, she assured fans that she was not on “suicide watch.” Saeed Adyani / Netflix

“This is being really honest … I don’t enjoy living,” she candidly shared on her podcast last month. “I don’t enjoy it. I don’t enjoy things anymore.”

Applegate later clarified her comment, saying that being able to express her “dark thoughts” was “incredibly healing and important” even if it makes others uncomfortable.

The “Bad Moms” star also assured her fans that she is “not sitting here on suicide watch.”