Blogging Every Day For A Year


WordPrress stats showing 366 posts written.

Every year, I take part in NaBloPoMo the Judoon mating festival where people blog every day in November. I ended November 2019 with more blog posts than I knew what to do with, so I tried blogging every day in January. And then, well, February is only a short month, isn't it? If all has […]

Continue reading →

Add .ics events to your main Google Calendar


The Google Logo.

Google Calendar is one of the cornerstones of G-Suite. Sadly Google don't dedicate enough resources to develop into its full potential. Other than a new icon and forced Google Meet integration, it hasn't had many improvements recently. Leaving it to the community to pick up the pieces. Here's how to get an external calendar integrated […]

Continue reading →

Build - Don't Buy


Two little Lego people try to build some flatpack furniture.

Lots of pixels have been spilled recently on whether you should build your own stuff, or buy stuff and then configure it. Wardley Mapping (which I still don't understand) seems to say that you should buy commodity items and only build where you can add unique value. And I think I agree with that. For […]

Continue reading →

Screen recording on Wayland / Pop_OS


Unix is user-friendly — it's just choosy about who its friends are.

One of the annoying things about being on the bleeding edge, is that some things don't work as you expect. I use the Wayland Display Server on my Linux box. And I couldn't find a simple screen recorder which worked. Turns out, Gnome has a hidden screen recorder! To activate it, press these keys simultaneously. […]

Continue reading →

Anatomy of my perfect ls command


Unix is user-friendly — it's just choosy about who its friends are.

Mostly notes to myself. Nestled away in my Linux Bash profile, I have this one-liner alias lh='ls -trhgGN --color=always | cut -d" " -f4-' When I run lh it outputs a list of files in the directory, showing their size, with the newest files on the bottom. I use this regularly to see what I've […]

Continue reading →

Data is so cheap it is being given away


Advert for 200MB of free data.

When I first started in the mobile industry, 3G had just launched. It was slow and expensive. Nowadays it is fast and free. UK Network Three are giving away free SIMs which comes with 200MB per month of free data. Visit three.co.uk/datareward to register. My SIM was delivered a few days later. Update - the […]

Continue reading →

Utilizing Quantum BlockChain for 6th Generation Neural Networks


Binary code displayed on a screen.

This pre-release whitepaper is a multidisciplinary approach to the challenges associated with using Quantum BlockChain technology to improve the performance of 6th Generation data networks for their performance with neural objects. By reconceptualising the way the nano-structures of 5th Generation (5G) networks interface with the OSI stack of traditional networks, we have found a way […]

Continue reading →

Sometimes a bad patch is better than no patch


A screenshot showing the difference between two text files.

Cunningham's Law states "the best way to get the right answer on the internet is not to ask a question; it's to post the wrong answer." Edent's 7th Law (My blog; my rules!) states "the best way to get an open source project to fix an issue is to send a slightly wrong Pull Request." […]

Continue reading →

Book Review: The Thursday Murder Club - Richard Osman


Book cover.

In a peaceful retirement village, four unlikely friends meet up once a week to investigate unsolved murders. But when a brutal killing takes place on their very doorstep, the Thursday Murder Club find themselves in the middle of their first live case. Elizabeth, Joyce, Ibrahim and Ron might be pushing eighty but they still have […]

Continue reading →

I know how many microphones and cameras you have


Web browser asking for permission to access microphones. On the page, the number of microphones is displayed.

A curious little data leak, but one I struggle to care about. Perhaps useful for a bit of fingerprinting? Websites can access your system's camera and microphone. That's how modern video conferencing works in the browser. In an effort to retain user privacy, the browser asks the user for permission to use the camera and […]

Continue reading →