Gadget Review: Yet another WiFi enabled smoke alarm


A small smoke alarm in the palm of someone's hand.

After reviewing the X-Sense Home Security Kit, I decided to also review their wireless smoke alarms. As I said at the time, the interlinked alarms were great - but didn't connect to the hub. That means you have to be physically present in the home in order to hear the alarm. Well, X-Sense were listening! […]

Continue reading →

Certified Blockchain Professional - Module 14: Scalable Blockchain


Logo for the Certified Blockchain Professional.

As previously discussed, I'm doing the Certified Blockchain Professional course. It is self-directed learning, so I'm going through it at my own pace. In order to consolidate my learning, and help organise my thoughts, I'm blogging about my reflections on each module. These are mostly notes to myself - but I hope if you find […]

Continue reading →

Certified Blockchain Professional - Module 13: Blockchain Project Implementation


Logo for the Certified Blockchain Professional.

As previously discussed, I'm doing the Certified Blockchain Professional course. It is self-directed learning, so I'm going through it at my own pace. In order to consolidate my learning, and help organise my thoughts, I'm blogging about my reflections on each module. These are mostly notes to myself - but I hope if you find […]

Continue reading →

Book Review: The Box - How the Shipping Container Made the World Smaller and the World Economy Bigger by Marc Levinson


Box cover showing a blueprint of a shipping container.

In April 1956, a refitted oil tanker carried fifty-eight shipping containers from Newark to Houston. From that modest beginning, container shipping developed into a huge industry that made the boom in global trade possible. The Box tells the dramatic story of the container's creation, the decade of struggle before it was widely adopted, and the […]

Continue reading →

Certified Blockchain Professional - Module 12: IOT


Logo for the Certified Blockchain Professional.

As previously discussed, I'm doing the Certified Blockchain Professional course. It is self-directed learning, so I'm going through it at my own pace. In order to consolidate my learning, and help organise my thoughts, I'm blogging about my reflections on each module. These are mostly notes to myself - but I hope if you find […]

Continue reading →

Certified Blockchain Professional - Module 11: Industry Use Cases


Logo for the Certified Blockchain Professional.

As previously discussed, I'm doing the Certified Blockchain Professional course. It is self-directed learning, so I'm going through it at my own pace. In order to consolidate my learning, and help organise my thoughts, I'm blogging about my reflections on each module. These are mostly notes to myself - but I hope if you find […]

Continue reading →

Designing for non-rectangular browser windows


A smartphone in the shape of a triangle.

How I miss the days when phone manufacturers were innovative. Nowadays everything is just a boring black rectangle. How to end a frontend developer's career pic.twitter.com/AYsI0pghh5 — Tawanda Nyahuye👨‍💻 (@towernter) May 6, 2022 I imagine that this (concept) device would probably just put the browser only on one row / column. Probably sensible, but utterly […]

Continue reading →

MSc Assignment 5 - Professional Practise 1 - Machine Learning in Python


Logo of the Python programming language.

I'm doing an apprenticeship MSc in Digital Technology. In the spirit of openness, I'm blogging my research and my assignments. This is my paper from the PP1 module - where I take some CPD related to my profession. I picked Machine Learning in Python. I've blogged about the course itself. The middle two parts of […]

Continue reading →

Certified Blockchain Professional - Module 10: Impact on Industry


Logo for the Certified Blockchain Professional.

As previously discussed, I'm doing the Certified Blockchain Professional course. It is self-directed learning, so I'm going through it at my own pace. In order to consolidate my learning, and help organise my thoughts, I'm blogging about my reflections on each module. These are mostly notes to myself - but I hope if you find […]

Continue reading →

Different ways to do separators in horizontal text


The HTML5 Logo.

Quite often on the web, you'll see a set of "things" with a separator between them. For example, at the top of this post, you'll see Thing 1 | Something Else | Another Thing. This provides clear visual separation between logical groups. But there are a couple of problems. Firstly, the separator character may not […]

Continue reading →