THE EXPANSE -- Season:2 -- Pictured: (l-r) Dominique Tipper as Naomi Nagata, Wes Chatham as Amos Burton, Cas Anvar as Alex Kamal, Steven Strait as Earther James Holden -- (Photo by: Kurt Iswarienko/Syfy)

Welcome to The New Year: TV Resolutions for 2018

Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, Features, Game of Thrones, Stranger Things, This is Us, Westworld, Wynonna Earp

As the year closes out, it’s time to start writing up resolutions (no matter what you like to call them) for the new year. There are always those things you mean to do but never get around to, so why not apply that to television and the way you watch it?

From dropping a few shows to clearing out the DVR, check out just a few TV resolutions for the new year from the Tell-Tale TV staff.

Lauren:

There’s a long and short version of my main resolution. The short version is that I want to watch more sci-fi. I haven’t been watching sci-fi as much as I have in the past, and I kind of miss it.

On a broader scale, is that some of my favorite series ended in 2017, and I think that means its time to play some catch-up on some things, but that list doesn’t just include sci-fi.

I think my TV catch up list has to include Stranger ThingsThe CrownThe Expanse, and Westworld for sure. I feel like I must be one of the last people in the world to jump on the Stranger Things bandwagon.

Stranger Things, Giphy.com/gifs/netflix

I’m also really looking forward to both Altered Carbon on Netflix and Lucy Hale’s new show Life Sentence on The CW. Games of Thrones is another one for this list. Plus, I just discovered that my Apple TV now has Amazon Prime as an app so I can watch the shows that are on Amazon that I keep hearing about.

Related  Vote for Your Favorite TV Shows and Performers! The 2024 Tell-Tale TV Awards (Round 1)
Charles:

I resolve not to add any more shows to my watch list until I catch up on the newest seasons on Netflix. That will never happen!

Hillary:

I want to encourage people to watch more science fiction and fantasy even if they don’t normally. There are great shows that are in the genre that are more focused on the drama of the people than the science (like Wynonna Earp and Travelers).

Wynonna Earp, Giphy.com/gifs/syfy

This is a resolution for heads of television channels and shows: Hire More Diverse Writers and Directors. We have such a diverse and inclusive society that we cannot keep telling stories from a straight white male’s perspective. Whether it’s race, gender, sexual orientation, or beliefs, we need to have different voices to tell different stories.

The overall landscape of the entertainment industry will benefit tremendously from offering opportunities to diverse communities to tell their stories. Representation matters; the industry just needs to realize it.

Allison:

Drop shows that you are no longer invested in. It’s hard to say goodbye to a show, especially if you’ve watched it for years. When you start to notice that you no longer look forward to new episodes and watching it turns out to be more of a hassle than an enjoyable experience, it’s time to say goodbye.

There’s so much excellent TV on these days, and it’s not worth suffering through a show simply because you’ve been a fan for years.

Related  10 TV Couples Who Should Have Gotten a Happy Ending
Ashley:

My TV resolution is to livetweet shows more often. I love the interaction and the conversations that can come from watching a show like Grey’s Anatomy or Crazy Ex-Girlfriend when it airs and tweeting about it, but I rarely remember to do it! I’m also terrible at sitting down to watch shows when they come on, and I want that to change.

CXGF, Rebecca Bunch, Giphy.com/crazyexgifs

Brianna:

One of my resolutions every year is to clear out my DVR finally! Though I lose steam about halfway through the year, I’m hoping I’ll stick with it next year.

I would like to see if I can keep up with at least one streaming show. With a hectic schedule, it becomes tough trying to keep up with Netflix’s constant releases while also remembering that Hulu and Amazon also have some excellent shows. So, if there’s one Amazon or Hulu series I should be watching, feel free to recommend it in the comments.

Christina:

My TV Resolution is to get into more shows. I watch a lot of TV but there’s also a lot of shows I haven’t dived into, and I mean to. Shows such as Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, Game of Thrones, and GLOW are on the top of my list.

Netflix GLOW Allison Brie giphy

Alicyn:

This year, I would love to stop being such a snob and give more network shows a chance. I tend to dismiss most of them out of hand as lame procedurals or corny sitcoms, but shows like This Is Us, Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, and Great News have been some of my favorites this season. It may take a bit of convincing to get me to watch a cop/doctor/lawyer show, but I’m going to be open to suggestions.

Related  What to Watch on TV: Young Royals, Grey's Anatomy, and Masters of the Air

Those are just a few of our staff resolutions for 2018. What are some of your TV resolutions? Is there a show you want to drop or pick up? Let us know in the comments! Happy New Year!

Want more from Tell-Tale TV? Subscribe to our newsletter here!

21 Memorable TV Moments from 2017

Brianna spends her time away from briefs, legal research, and pleadings, watching TV and writing about it. She generally has a lot of feelings about TV, which you can read about here and on Twitter.

Join the discussion and leave a comment!