Jack Messina from Manifest

Jack Messina Talks ‘Manifest’ Season 1 [Exclusive Interview]

Interviews, Manifest

Manifest premiered this fall on NBC with a story centering around a group of passengers that boarded a flight that disappeared for five and a half years to return one day as if no time had passed.

Amongst those passengers was Cal Stone, played by Jack Messina. Cal was one of a pair of twins, who was diagnosed with a cancer that had stopped responding to treatments.

Over the course of Manifest Season 1, the writers have built an arc that centers around Cal experiencing what the passengers call “The Callings,” and it looks like Cal is experiencing them more intensely than other passengers.

I had a few questions for Messina about Cal’s story arc, how Cal’s experiencing the callings, and his favorite moments on set.

Jack Messina from Manifest
Jack Messina – Photo by: Erica MacLean / Groomer: Toni Martinez

Tell-Tale TV: You play a character who is dealing with terminal illness. Did you do any research for that when you got the role of Cal? 

Messina: I didn’t really do research because the show focuses on Cal getting better and having to deal with new issues, like unexplained callings. I did do some research for a scene where I had a seizure. That was definitely not a fun thing to reenact.

Related  David Lascher and Christine Taylor Reflect on 'Hey Dude' and Talk About Their New Podcast [Interview]

Tell-Tale TV:  What was your audition process like for Manifest?

Messina: Auditioning for Manifest was a great experience. I had to read a scene that took place with my twin sister, Olive – but I did it alone. I didn’t know who my sister would be yet, so I had to just act like she was there.

One of my callbacks to meet the producers was during a huge snowstorm in NY. But I love snow, so it didn’t bother me.

Manifest Season 1 Episode 2 - Athena Karkanis as Grace Stone, Jack Messina as Cal Stone
MANIFEST — “Reentry” Episode 102 — Pictured: (l-r) Athena Karkanis as Grace Stone, Jack Messina as Cal Stone — (Photo by: Craig Blankenhorn/NBC)

Tell-Tale TV: What is the atmosphere like on set? Is there anyone on set that you’ve bonded with?

Messina: Behind the scenes, we have a lot of fun. I have nerf gun fights with Josh Dallas. He’s a really nice guy. Sometimes I have my scooter on set and I scoot around the studio.

Tell-Tale TV: Do you have a favorite scene or episode that you really loved shooting or that you’re proud of?

Messina: We shot an episode at Coney Island and that was so much fun. I got to play some of the games over and over again. I also ate a lot of pizza.

Related  Emeraude Toubia Talks 'With Love' Season 2 [Interview]

It was an exciting episode because I was running through the subway station and making Josh Dallas chase me.

Jack Messina from Manifest
Jack Messina – Photo by: Erica MacLean / Groomer: Toni Martinez

Tell-Tale TV: Since Manifest deals with time travel or time jumps, if you had the chance to take a temporary trip into your future would you, and what would you hope to see?

Messina: If I could go into the future, I would love to see how technology has changed our lives. Do we still drive cars? Do we still go to stores? Do we still watch shows on TV? I hope so, I hope we’re still watching Manifest.

Tell-Tale TV:  What do you like to do in your down time when you aren’t filming? 

Messina: When I’m not filming the show, I love to ski. I ski pretty much every weekend in the winter.  I’m working on learning tricks like rails and jumps.

Tell-Tale TV: And my last question for you, what TV shows are you currently watching?

Related  Outlander: John Bell and Charles Vandervaart on the Introduction of Adult William [Interview]

Messina: Besides Manifest, I like watching America’s Funniest Home Videos and Spongebob Squarepants.

Be sure to check out the season finale of Manifest airing Monday, February 18th  at 10/9c on NBC.

twitter Follow us on Twitter! 

Want more from Tell-Tale TV? Subscribe to our newsletter here!

22 Most Underrated TV Characters of 2018

Lauren Busser is an Associate Editor at Tell-Tale TV. She is a writer of fiction and nonfiction whose work has appeared in Bitch Media, Popshot Quarterly, Brain Mill Press Voices, and The Hartford Courant.

Join the discussion and leave a comment!