Daredevil: Born Again - Charlie Cox and Vincent D’Onofrio

A Chat with ‘Daredevil’ Stars Charlie Cox and Vincent D’Onofrio | Fan Expo Canada

Daredevil, Fan Expo Canada, Features

Hell’s Kitchen’s finest invaded Toronto for Fan Expo Canada with a panel paying homage to Marvel’s beloved crime-fighting lawyer and his notorious nemesis.

With the SAG-AFTRA strike still ongoing and all discussions of struck work off the table, Daredevil‘s Charlie Cox and Vincent D’Onofrio chatted with fans about their adorable cosplay concepts, antics from their time working together, and the highs and lows of acting.

Cosplay at Cons
Marvel's The Defenders
Marvel’s The Defenders – Charlie Cox as Daredevil

When asked if the Daredevil duo would ever consider dressing in cosplay to attend a convention, Cox had the best answer.

“I’ve actually been thinking about that a lot recently because I might take my daughter to one this year. And we have to dress up,” Cox revealed. But he confirmed that a duo costume might be out of the question. “She’s six, so I don’t want to bring her street cred down too much by dressing up with her.”

As D’Onofrio mulled over the idea of a Mary Poppins cosplay, Cox sat quietly, weighing his options before revealing to the crowd, “I think I would like to do Bluey.”

If you are at that convention where Cox and his daughter dress as Bluey characters, know you have won the con lottery.

Fishy Business
Fan Expo Canada 2023 —Charlie Cox and Vincent D’Onofrio
Fan Expo Canada 2023 —Charlie Cox and Vincent D’Onofrio (Photo courtesy of Alicia Gilstorf)

The conversation quickly became confessional as Cox and D’Onofrio dove into their acting pursuits and passions.

“When Charlie and I were doing many interviews for Daredevil, we did this one where, without telling the person who was interviewing us, our answers would have to include a fish,” D’Onofrio revealed.

“So we would include a certain kind of fish in our answers, but it had to sound like a word we were maybe mispronouncing.”

Related  Fan Expo Canada 2023 Preview: Superheroes, Scream, and the Vice President of SAG-AFTRA LA

“I remember a couple of them!” Cox said, delighted to jump in. “There was one where I said, ‘Well, this show is very violent and thank-cod.’ But there was one that got me crying. The interview was in a foreign country, so they weren’t all fluent in English and probably weren’t hearing it, but I said, ‘When I first read the script, I spoke to my friend SEA-BASS-tian.'”

It’s safe to say the audience bought these jokes: hook, line, and sinker.

Bad Auditions
Daredevil
The Netflix Original Series “Marvel’s Daredevil” © 2014 Netflix, Inc. All rights reserved.

Our panelists traded in questions about upcoming projects for a philosophical deep dive into their worst auditions.

“I had a really bad one, but it was my own fault,” D’Onofrio admitted. “I went to an audition for Jim Jarmusch, who was making some groundbreaking independent films in the nineties. Despite knowing I had a big audition the next day, I stayed up all night. I literally nodded off during the audition, and I can’t remember even leaving — but I obviously left.”

Cox sympathized with D’Onofrio as he, too, stayed up the night before his big audition, but the outcome was vastly different.

“I pulled an all-nighter the night before my Stardust audition, not intentionally,” he explained. “I had already canceled one, and the audition was right before Christmas, but I went out with friends, we ended up back at my place, and people fell asleep. When I woke up, there were people asleep on the couch, on the floor; I just wanted to get out of the house and remembered I had an audition.”

“So I went to the audition to get out of the house.” And how did that audition go? “It went really well,” Cox laughed.

Related  Loki Season 2 Episode 2 Review: Breaking Brad
Charlie, the Travel Writer
Charlie Cox in the Netflix Original Series “Marvel’s Daredevil”
Charlie Cox in the Netflix Original Series “Marvel’s Daredevil” © 2014 Netflix, Inc. All rights reserved.

One of the more interesting tidbits of this panel involved Cox and a passion for travel.

“The thing I always think I would want to do is be a travel writer,” he said when asked what other career path he had considered. “I don’t know if I could do it or not, but I love traveling, and I secretly harbor an idea that I could write about places I’ve been to and experienced because I have that passion.”

However, Cox admitted that traveling for leisure can be challenging as an actor.

“There’s never a good time to go away because if you have a job, you’re preparing for it, you’re obsessed with it, so you don’t want to leave that. And if you’re out of a job, you’re waiting for the phone to ring. So I made a deal with myself after each job to find a couple weeks to go somewhere, and I really committed to that.”

“It forces you into a place where you have to experience the culture, and you can’t rely on your buddy. You have to reach out, you have to make friends,” he explained.

Canadian Chip Challenge
Fan Expo Canada 2023 —Daredevil's Charlie Cox and Vincent D’Onofrio
Fan Expo Canada 2023 —Daredevil’s Charlie Cox and Vincent D’Onofrio (Photo courtesy of Alicia Gilstorf)

The panel closed with a game of “This or That” and a question Canadians face daily. What’s better, ketchup chips or all-dressed chips?

Understandably, the two actors were confused by this inquiry. “What’s all-dressed chips?” Cox asked harmlessly to the audience’s distress. “Wait, you know we’re not Canadian, right?” D’Onofrio said to the chorus of shock.

Thus, a taste test was in order before they could answer, and attendees handed the actors a bag of chips. “Oh, this is exciting. This is like the Pepsi challenge,” Cox proclaimed as D’Onofrio added, “I feel like one of The Hymes Sisters when I do stuff like this.”

Related  Lift Review: Kevin Hart’s Heist Film Fails To Live Up to Its Cast and Premise

After a few moments of intense chewing, Cox confirmed he was an all-dressed chip fan, “That’s tremendous.” But the ketchup chips were not welcome. “These ketchup ones just look wrong,” Cox noted before trying one chip, waving in surrender, and stealing the all-dressed chips back.

When asked to weigh in, D’Onofrio said, “I’ll keep my remarks to myself.” Ultimately, he pointed at the all-dressed bag as Cox triumphantly held the winner to the crowd.

Check out all of our coverage of Fan Expo Canada right here!

twitter Follow us on Twitter and on instagram-icon Instagram!

Want more from Tell-Tale TV? Subscribe to our newsletter here!

Fan Expo Canada 2023 Preview: Superheroes, Scream, and the Vice President of SAG-AFTRA LA

Alicia is a writer from Canada. She credits her passion for TV and film to superheroes, workplace comedies, cheesy holiday movies, and coming-of-age stories. Keep a lookout for her coverage of Ghosts.

Join the discussion and leave a comment!