Advertisement

And then there were two: Undecideds Marques Bolden, Sabrina Ionescu hardly the norm at Jordan Brand

Marques Bolden is honored for being selected to the Jordan Brand Classic (Photo: Jordan Brand Classic)

Marques Bolden is honored for being selected to the Jordan Brand Classic (Photo: Jordan Brand Classic)

BROOKLYN, N.Y. — There are only two undecided players this year in the boys and girls All-American basketball games in Friday’s Jordan Brand Classic: Marques Bolden of DeSoto, Texas, who is playing for the West boys; and West girls player Sabrina Ionescu of Miramonte (Orinda, Calif.).

In past years, there were often five or more undecided players just on the boys team (a girls game was added just last year). Wednesday was the first day of the regular signing period for Division I basketball players. It runs through May 18.

Bolden, a 6-9, 250-pound center, said he will be glad to get his decision over with.

“It’s been a long time,” Bolden said. “I’ve been recruited since my junior year and now it’s April and I’m about to be 18 and I still haven’t picked the school.”

Bolden has narrowed his choices to Duke and Kentucky. He was paid a visit Sunday by Duke’s  four assistants, but not coach Mike Kzyzewski. He also said he talked to Kentucky coach John Calipari on Tuesday and has been in frequent contact with the coaching staff.

When asked what will be the determining factor, Bolden said, “Playing style, relationships and how important I’m going to be to their team instead of just being another guy. …

“I see myself fitting in perfectly with both teams. I try not to look at the other guys coming in. There’s going to be competition everywhere. You’re not going to be the only guy there. I know I’m going to get better wherever I go, but the way Kentucky develops their guys is unbelievable and then the way Duke guys come out and are so successful. They’re both positives.”

RELATED: Jordan Brand Classic provides opportunity for some overlooked players to shine

He said it’s possible he might be able to announce on national TV on Friday, if he’s made up his mind. The rosters include Kentucky signees Malik Monk, Wenyen Gabriel and De’Aaron Fox and Duke signees Harry Giles and Frank Jackson, so Bolden is getting lobbied from all sides.

“I wouldn’t say they’re bugging me,” Bolden said. “They’re way cooler than the media about it. I don’t have plenty of time to make the decision. I feel pressure not to make the wrong decision.”

Bolden said playing with future teammates here won’t necessarily help his choice.

“It doesn’t really help me because I can’t judge off an all-star game,” he said. “You’re not focused on winning. You’re focused on individual performances.”

Being in the minority doesn’t bother Ionescu, who was the American Family Insurance ALL-USA Girls Player of the Year.

“There’s no pressure,” Ionescu said. “I made my visits earlier. Now, I’ve gotten a chance to see them play in the NCAAs and have a better idea where I might fit in best.”

Ionescu wants to stay close enough to home where her parents could see her play regularly, so her finalists are Oregon State, Oregon (where her twin brother Eddy has committed) and Cal.

Ionescu was named the Most Valuable Player of the McDonald’s All American Game two weeks ago.

West player Sabrina Ionescu (20) dribbles the ball against Lindsey Corsaro during McDonald's All American Game (Photo: Mike DiNovo, USA TODAY Sports)

West player Sabrina Ionescu (20) dribbles the ball against Lindsey Corsaro during McDonald’s All American Game (Photo: Mike DiNovo, USA TODAY Sports)

More Jordan Brand Classic