Advertisement

The Megan Walker blog: Here's why I chose Connecticut...

Megan Walker is widely considered the top girls player in the class of 2017, and the Monacan (North Chesterfield, Va.) senior announced Thursday she will head to Connecticut next season. Here’s what went into her decision.

Megan Walker (Photo: USA Basketball)

Megan Walker (Photo: USA Basketball)

I can definitely say I feel relieved now that the process has come to an end. I can say it was a long and exciting process—I wouldn’t say I wish I wouldn’t have had to go through it, or I wish it never happened, or anything like that.

I really enjoyed it. You get to meet so many people you don’t get to meet in your daily life, so I really appreciate that and I’m blessed to be in this situation and continue my career at the University of Connecticut.

MORE: Top 2017 girls basketball recruit Megan Walker picks UConn

Honestly, though, it wasn’t until like two days ago that I finally decided to go to UConn. It was really hard. It was right there, neck-and-neck between Texas and UConn. It was the toughest decision I’ve ever had to make.

I talked with my parents, I talked with my trainer, and just all the people who know me best when I was trying to decide. Then I kind of sat by myself and thought about what things were most important—life after basketball. What school is going to set me up for that? Who are the people and the tools at the school that can help me succeed? The final say was, ‘what school will put me in the best position for life after basketball?’

Now, I’ll be playing for a legendary coach in Geno (Auriemma). I have so much confidence that he can develop me into the best player that I can be, and really maximize my potential.

RELATED: Evina Westbrook, No. 2 player in Class of 2017, picks Tennessee

I’m definitely planning to go in with a positive attitude; I’m not just gonna hope that I’ll show up and start. But I’m going to work hard to start, but I don’t expect anything to be given to me. I’m a freshman all over again, and I know how that goes.

But for now I still have my senior year at Monacan, and we’re two-time state champs right now, so we’re hoping to win a third one and, really, just have fun. It’s my last year and I want to prepare for Connecticut.

More Athlete Blogs