Advertisement

VIDEO: This one-handed TD grab will leave you speechless

The Texas playoff showdown between No. 7 Allen and San Angelo Central had just about everything you would want in a high school football playoff game: Huge crowd, great atmosphere, rough weather conditions, and great players.

None was greater than this one-handed grab by 6-8 Adam West for San Angelo. What makes it more amazing is how effortless it appears for the Harvard commit.

The play was ranked No. 2 on SportsCenter’s Top 10 on Friday night.

“In the heat of a game, everything happens so fast,” West told USA TODAY High School Sports. “I don’t ever think. The hundreds, even thousands, of reps that I’ve done take over and my body reacts with instinct. I just reached up as high as I could and used the ability God gave me to come down with the ball.”

And then there was the reaction he got after the catch.

“Overwhelming,” he said. “The 20,000-plus fans were roaring; my teammates were ecstatic; my heart was pounding, but the only thing on my mind was blocking out all the hype and focusing on the task at hand.”

More Video