‘SEAL Team’ Star David Boreanaz Teases Next Project: ‘I Am Watching a Lot of ‘The Sopranos’ Right Now’

David Boreanaz
Courtesy of Getty Images Entertainment

David Boreanaz, the star of “Buffy the Vampire Slayer,” “Bones” and “SEAL Team,” teased what could be his next project while attending the Monte-Carlo Television Festival Monday.

Boreanaz, who has recently finished shooting the seventh and final season of “SEAL Team,” said that he was developing a series as a writer that he could also star in and produce. Pressed on what that might be, he would only say: “I am watching a lot of ‘The Sopranos’ right now.”

However, when asked if it would be about the Mafia, he responded: “No.” But, he added: “You know what, I love suits, I love style, I love cars.”

Related Stories

Boreanaz said his abilities as a writer were developing. “I’m really good at the dialogue writing. I’m very good at that. I’m getting better at structure. You know, it is work in progress for me. But I love character breakdowns. I love, you know, story pointing, and all that stuff. So creating, yes. I am very good at creating.”

Popular on Variety

Boreanaz confirmed that he was in discussions with Paramount+, which streams “SEAL Team,” about developing future projects. “Yep, Paramount+ is a great group of people, and we have had discussions from a director’s perspective, from a producing perspective, from a lead’s perspective. So, some really good stuff on the horizon.”

Asked if he would work with Taylor Sheridan, the co-creator of Paramount’s “Yellowstone” and “Mayor of Kingstown,” Boreanaz said: “Obviously, I would work with Taylor Sheridan, of course. He is brilliant. But I am going to become my own Taylor Sheridan.”

According to Boreanaz, a movie version of “SEAL Team” is still a possibility. “As far as the film is concerned, I still feel as though a film can be easily achievable over some time,” he said. “Given how we shoot the show, and the locations and being fortunate to go to certain places around the world, and take the show, and tell these stories, and these guys’ drive, [this story] can be picked up at any time. So, without giving away any kind of end to the evolution of the series and where it is, it’s something that is open ended and I wouldn’t say dead.”

Boreanaz, who is serving this week as president of the fiction jury at Monte-Carlo Television Festival, also spoke about issues outside of show business.

Referring to what military veterans he has met while acting in “SEAL Team” would like from the U.S. government, he said: “For me, one of the biggest gifts I’ve … [he exhales, and gathers himself] … It makes me emotional and I’m going to tell you why: When someone says to you, and they are an operator in the military: ‘Thank you. You saved my life. I was going to kill myself last night, but I watched your show, I saw something that made me reach out for help.’ That is the best compliment I could ever receive doing a show like this. For our men and women in the military, or veterans, there should be a constant daily reminder that they should be celebrated every day. There should be healthcare, insurance across the board. That’s just my take on that.”

Asked whether there was a memento of special value he kept from a past show or an award, he instead referred to an object of a far more personal nature: “A letter from my mom that was written to me when I was travelling through Europe with my best friend. And she was staying at the Ashford Castle, and she wrote … [he pauses] me a letter. That’s an award,” he said quietly. Although he didn’t elaborate, the memory of this clearly triggered some profound emotion in him.

More from Variety

\