Glen Davis
Chuck Cook-USA TODAY SportsCredit: Chuck Cook-USA TODAY Sports

Former Boston Celtics great Glen ‘Big Baby’ Davis is headed to prison for his involvement in a scheme that defrauded the NBA Players’ Health and Benefit Welfare Plan. The 38-year-old has been sentenced to 40 months in prison, but he doesn’t sound like someone who’s worried about his upcoming jail stint.

When reached for comment out in Los Angeles, Davis let it be known that he believes there are a few perks involved with being locked away for just over three years.

“I’m not nervous. I feel like I’m gonna have good, quality time in there and learn things, meet new people. It’s gonna be alright. You ain’t gotta spend no money. I feel like one time in my lifetime, I just wanna be fine as hell. So shout out to the ladies out there. Write me. I’ll be in there getting fine as hell. When I get out, call me Big Baby Jailbait.”

Glen ‘Big Baby’ Davis

While Davis played for the Celtics, Magic, and Clippers, his best days came during his four-year career in Boston. It’s where he helped the Celtics win the NBA Finals in 2008 during his rookie season. Despite entering the NBA as a second-round pick, Davis had no trouble carving out an important role spelling the Big 3 Boston assembled, averaging 13.6 minutes per game.

Measuring in at 6-foot-9, 289 pounds during his NBA career that spanned eight seasons, Davis will have more than enough time on his hands to get “fine as hell.” But that may be much easier said than done.

But Davis isn’t quite headed to jail yet. He first has to report for another court sentence next month, and he’s still appealing the judge’s ruling, so more delays could be on the way. In other words, he’ll have plenty of time to plot out how he plans to reach his goals while in jail.

Related: Angel Reese Cries in Touching Moment With Sky Coach After Being Chosen As WNBA All-Star

Mentioned in this article:

More about: