Rebellion’s Post

View organization page for Rebellion, graphic

74,578 followers

'As a level designer, I keep accessibility at the forefront of my thinking from the start of my design process. I like to find seemingly small design choices that can make a big difference for players with accessibility needs. For example, to help players with motor accessibility needs, can an area that has multiple jumps be just as fun if we change it to stairs or a slope? Recognising and making this decision early in the whiteboxing stage means we don’t need to make retrospective changes. I recommend that other developers think about accessibility in their games as early as they can. I believe that designing with accessibility principles in mind leads to overall better design decisions and an improved game for all players. A stand-out moment for me was when I had a go at playing Minecraft with technology that allowed me to use my eyes as the controller. I was blown away, and thinking about how much joy that technology could bring someone really stuck with me.' Chris Palmer, Junior Level Designer #GAAD

  • A red transparent background sits on top of an Evil Genius 2 screenshot. A circular portrait of Chris Palmer is left aligned next to the quote text: I like to find seemingly small design choices that can make a big difference for players with accessibility needs.'
Richard Smith

Principal Software Engineer / Innovator at Preservica

2mo

This is an interesting area, because unlike normal software (where you always want the user experience to be as easy as possible for everyone), in games the challenge is part of the fun. If you make a dexterity puzzle fun for someone with dyspraxia, it will be so easy it's not fun for the average person. PVP games with matchmaking somewhat self-balance, because you'll be matched with players at your ability level, and the reason you are at that level doesn't really matter. But for games with an adventure or platform or puzzle aspect, it's a difficult challenge to make it fun for a broad range of abilities.

Like
Reply

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics