celebrity

Amy Schumer’s Mental-Health Parody Did Not Go Over Well

Photo: Axelle/Bauer-Griffin/FilmMagic

On Sunday, Tom Holland posted a video announcing he is taking a break from social media for his mental health. “I find Instagram and Twitter to be overstimulating, overwhelming,” he said. “I get caught up and I spiral when I read things about me online, and ultimately it’s very detrimental to my mental state. So I decided to take a step back and delete the app.” Plugging Stem4, a mental-health charity he sponsors, he added, “Asking for help and seeking help isn’t something we should be ashamed of, but it’s much easier said than done.”

Holland’s announcement was met with a big wave of fan support for being open about his mental health. It was also followed by a video from Amy Schumer, which many interpreted as mocking his post. In what sounds like a parody of “logging off for my mental health” announcements (which, to be fair, are far from rare), Schumer said, “I’ve decided, for my own mental health, to do more social media,” she said. “I find that looking at my phone for eight and a half hours a day is helping me, and” — she paused to point to a spot on her face — “it’s helping this pimple patch and this breakout. Being in my 40s, it’s actually really good for me to watch all of Love Island and all of The Bachelors, whether in paradise or just normal mansions. So you’ll be seeing a lot more of me on social media just for my physical and mental well-being.”

The video did not exactly go over well, with commenters accusing Schumer of mocking Holland for talking about his mental health and trying to destigmatize self care. Some pointed out that her response to the video is “precisely the reason why Tom Holland stays away from toxic social media.”

Schumer has since clarified in her Instagram stories that she didn’t mean any ill will toward Holland. “Not shading Spider-Man,” she wrote. “Making fun of myself. Of course social media is toxic!”

Amy Schumer’s Mental-Health Parody Did Not Go Over Well