Willie Nelson
Source: Mass Broadcast YouTube

The country music legend Willie Nelson received a standing ovation when he returned to performing last Thursday after previously canceling shows due to a health scare.

Nelson Returns To Performing

Nelson, 91, took the stage at a Fourth of July Picnic event in Camden, New Jersey.

“He’s bbaaacccckkkkk,” Nelson wrote on Instagram as he shared footage of the crowd.

While sitting on a stool, Nelson performed some of his biggest hits. These songs included “On the Road Again,” “Mammas Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Cowboys” and “Angel Flying Too Close to the Ground.”

Nelson later debuted his new song “The Border.”

Check out a portion of Nelson’s performance for yourself in the video below.

Related: Willie Nelson, 91, Gives Fans Update About His Health After Canceling Concerts

Nelson’s Health Scare

This comes after Nelson recently had to miss multiple shows at the Outlaw Music Festival due to “doctor’s orders.” He had been scheduled to kick off the tour on Friday, June 21. However, hours before he was set to perform, he announced that he would not be able to appear.

“We regret to inform you that Willie Nelson is not feeling well and, per doctor’s orders, has been advised to rest for the next four days,” his rep said in a statement. “In the meantime, [Willie’s son] Lukas Nelson and the Family Band will perform a special set to include Willie’s classics and other songs.”

“He is expected to make a quick recovery and join the Outlaw Music Festival tour next week,” the statement concluded.

The other headliners in the tour lineup were Bob Dylan, Robert Plant & Alison Krauss, and Celisse. Indeed, they were all able to perform as planned.

Nelson announced his Outlaw Music Festival Tour back in February.

“This year’s Outlaw Music Festival Tour promises to be the biggest and best yet with this lineup of legendary artists,” he said at the time. “‘I am thrilled to get back on the road again with my family and friends playing the music we love for the fans we love.”

Related: Willie Nelson Reveals Why He’s Refusing To Stop Touring At 90 – ‘It’s Just A Number’

Nelson Has No Plans To Retire

Despite being 91 years of age, Nelson has long made it clear that he has no plans to stop performing.

“I appreciate everything I get and I’ve been lucky,” he said last year. “I’m a little bit amazed that I’m first of all still here, [And] I’m having a good time.”

“I’m enjoying the singing, I think it’s good for me,” he continued. “People come up, right away, pay some money to come hear me or somebody sing, and it’s a great energy exchange out there and I look forward to it every time.”

In another interview last year, Nelson said that he didn’t mind spending his 90th birthday on the road.

“Working is really good for me, no matter what kind of show it is,” he told AARP.

When asked about retirement, Nelson replied, “Jokingly, I retire after every tour.”

“But I’m always ready to go back again. I like the bus,” he added. Nelson went on to say that he has “everything I need on the bus. I never have to go into a hotel room anywhere. It’s not that bad.” 

Nelson is a true legend, and there will never be another one like him. We’re glad that he was able to overcome this health scare to continue doing what he loves, which is performing!

Mentioned in this article:

More About: