Apartment complex has two shootings in one month, residents in fear

Two shootings in less than a month have left folks in one Dothan neighborhood terrorized.
Published: Apr. 26, 2024 at 5:49 PM CDT

DOTHAN, Ala. (WTVY) - Thursday’s shooting at Westgate Village Apartments marks the second shooting at the Dothan complex in less than a month.

Shariah Taylor, a resident at the complex, said she was outside when the bullets started flying.

“I hear pop, pop, pop, about 7 rounds,” said Taylor. “So I’m dodging, I’m ducking, I’m dodging, I’m ducking, I’m dodging, doing my Lil Kim. I’m trying to get my baby in the car, then I threw my baby in the backseat and we just sped off.”

On April 4, a mother was shot through her window while in bed with her kids at the same complex.

With the two shootings occurring in such a short amount of time, Lieutenant Scott Owens, Public Information Officer with Dothan Police, said red flags have raised over the complex.

“Two separate shootings this close together gives us cause for concern,” said Lt. Owens. “We still want the community to come out and be a partner with us and help us stop these senseless acts of violence.”

These incidents have led to those living there being uneasy.

“Sometimes, I don’t feel safe,” said Taylor. “I’m kind of paranoid out here and I’m scared.”

Other residents said they will looking to get out of the complex as quick as possible.

“Our patrol officers are going to more heavily saturate that area in the coming weeks to make sure we are as proactive as we can be,” said Lt. Owens.

While she hopes to see change, Taylor has a clear and concise message for her family and neighbors.

“If you stay in Westgate Village, stay in your house,” said Taylor. That’s all I’ve got to say.”

DPD said the shootings are not believed to be connected.

Subscribe to our News 4 newsletter and receive the latest local news and weather straight to your email every morning. Get instant notifications on top stories from News 4 by downloading our mobile apps.