Whoopi Goldberg Says ‘The View’ Gig Saved Her From Cancel Culture

The ladies of The View never hesitate to voice their opinions on cancel culture. While resident cancel culture hater Meghan McCain has exited the ABC talk show, moderator Whoopi Goldberg tore into the concept during a session at the Edinburgh TV Festival today where she delivered the annual International Icon Interview. As the star opened up about a lapse in her career following a joke about former President George W. Bush, she said that The View actually saved her from her long rut in the industry.

Goldberg discussed the 2004 gaffe, saying she was left out in the cold by the entertainment industry after a sexual joke about Bush backfired. Still, when journalist Jackie Adedeji asked her if she felt like she’d been “canceled,” the TV personality rejected the idea entirely.

“No. I would describe that situation as a lot of people covering their backsides, because the joke was never about him,” Goldberg said, per Variety. “But no one ever stood up and said, ‘Hey, here’s what actually happened.’ And they put it in the newspaper. And you notice, they’d never seen what I exactly said, or what I said at all. But all somebody has to do is say you said it.”

Continuing, Goldberg said, “I feel like the truth doesn’t seem to matter as much these days.”

Then, The View star opened up about what her definition of cancel culture is, stating that the whole concept relies on folks completely removing themself from supporting celebrities.

“Because there is cancel culture, people will call or text and say ‘I’m not buying your product. This is who you have talking about your product, me and my five million followers — if you keep her — we’re not going to buy your car, or we’re not going to buy your shampoo or we’re not going to buy your toothbrush or we’re not going to buy your Pampers,’” Goldberg said.

So, what pulled Goldberg out of her career halt and the possibility of being canceled forever over one joke? Her gig on The View, of course. “Lucky for me, Barbara Walters offered me a job and said, ‘Hey, would you like to do this?’” Goldberg recalled. But knowing the public’s current opinion about her, Goldberg was a bit hesitant about the whole idea.

“And I was like, ‘You know, I’m not in favor in the general public,'” Goldberg said. “She said, ‘You’ll be perfect.’”

Because what is a host of The View if not a at least a little controversial? To round things out, Goldberg teased what might be next for her after The View (or during, if she finds the time): Doctor Who.

“I would like to have played Doctor Who but I think it would mean an evolution into being American,” Goldberg said. “I don’t know if that’s correct for Doctor Who. I don’t know if I can usurp that.”

Where to watch The View