witchshaming:

kirby-ebooks:

ihamtmus:

corn-free-awesomesauce:

The best part of ‘me, an intellectual’ is that the grammatically correct pronoun would be ‘I’.

you: me, an intellectual

me, an intellectual: I, an intellectual

hi where the fuck do you think that fragment is getting nominative case. listen to me. subjects of transitive verbs in nom-acc languages get nominative case by agreeing with a tense node. are you listening. fragments are accusative in english because that’s the default case when there’s no case-assigning node. meet me in the pit behind the denny’s and i will explain this to you. bring a whiteboard

you: The best part of ‘me, an intellectual’ is that the grammatically correct pronoun would be ‘I’.

kirby, a linguist: meet me in the pit behind the denny’s and i will explain this to you. bring a whiteboard

18th-century grammarians: English grammar should work like Latin!

me, a linguistics blogger: I wrote a post explaining why “me” is perfectly acceptable two years ago

Don't miss out on any interesting linguistics! Get my monthly newsletter in your inbox.



Notes

  1. spinninginovals reblogged this from glutenfreelesbian
  2. banannasposts reblogged this from sachermorte
  3. twasbrilling reblogged this from potatobitches
  4. c-r-i-m-s-o-n-s-i-l-e-n-c-e reblogged this from smute
  5. captainsugaraddict reblogged this from smute
  6. smute reblogged this from memyselfandmystupidity-isback
  7. slimetutorialfan reblogged this from sachermorte
  8. carry-on-wayward-sister reblogged this from die-ringeltaube
  9. asphor reblogged this from die-ringeltaube
  10. krejong reblogged this from die-ringeltaube
  11. die-ringeltaube reblogged this from murderous-spaten
  12. murderous-spaten reblogged this from memyselfandmystupidity-isback
  13. memyselfandmystupidity-isback reblogged this from potatobitches
  14. greenrose-witchdance reblogged this from ignanimus
  15. ignanimus reblogged this from sachermorte
  16. potatobitches reblogged this from sachermorte
  17. sachermorte reblogged this from owo-whats-nyis
  18. voxelfoxkae reblogged this from voxelfoxkae
  19. meltdownindustries reblogged this from amarriageoftrueminds
  20. rachelica9 reblogged this from amarriageoftrueminds