Lupita Nyong'o Got Over Being a 'Scaredy Cat' for 'A Quiet Place: Day One'

CUL03_PS_Lupita Nyong'o_01
Actress Lupita Nyong'o poses for the camera Christian Cody

"I can confidently say this film has changed my life."

The trailer for A Quiet Place: Day One (June 28) shows star Lupita Nyong'o carrying a cat around moments before New York City is overtaken by aliens. For Nyong'o, the scariest thing on set weren't the aliens, but rather the cat in her arm. "I had a deadly fear of cats. I couldn't be in the same room as cats. I would break out in tears." Calling herself a "scaredy cat," the Oscar-winning actress worked with a cat therapist to get over her fear. "I can confidently say this film has changed my life." The film, a spin-off prequel to the other two in the franchise, tells the story of the first day the aliens—attracted by noise—took over the world. Nyong'o calls New York "a character in and of itself" and "makes for a much more dexterous journey, I will say, compared to the last few films that were in a remote location." As to how she'd fare in a world infested with noise-attracted aliens? "Not well, because when I am deathly afraid, I break out in fits of laughter. Which is the wrong thing to be doing when you're scared, ever. So, I feel like I would die laughing, which is great."

SUBSCRIBE TO THE PARTING SHOT WITH H. ALAN SCOTT
ON APPLE PODCASTS OR SPOTIFY

Editor's Note: This conversation has been edited and condensed for publication.

How excited are you to be in this franchise?

I'm really excited to be in this franchise. When I got the call from John [Krasinski, director of the original films and producer/writer on A Quiet Place: Day One], that they were going to be making a prequel and that he wanted me to star in it, I felt really honored, first of all, and because I think what he's created is really special and powerful and fun, as well. The idea of taking the baton from him and Emily [Blunt], obviously that's a big responsibility. But I liked that he wanted to do something different with the universe he created and also with the genre of horror. He's really interested in pushing the boundaries about what horror can do. I love that. I love the innovation that he brought to this well-loved genre.

Are you a fan of horror, and what about doing this genre excited you?

To be honest, I'm quite the scaredy cat. So I have to admit, I didn't watch the film at the theater because I was scared to do so, I needed to watch in the daylight where I could stop and leave whenever I needed to. But what I do love about this genre is that there's two emotions that really bring people together in entertainment—obviously laughter, and fear. I think those two emotions are such great cinematic experiences. And horror, of course, lends itself to fear. It's cathartic for us. I think we don't allow ourselves in our real lives, we're not looking for fear, we're trying to get as far away from it as possible. So in the realm of entertainment, we get to exercise that part of ourselves that lies dormant, if we're lucky, in our real lives, and so it's cathartic and brings us together, it also makes us appreciate our reality, because our realities are always a lot better off than a horror film. If you're lucky enough to live in a place like America.

I have to imagine actually shooting the film wasn't as scary as watching it, but were you at all scared of anything along the way?

You know what's funny, I say I'm a scaredy cat, I used to be afraid of cats. Yes, I had a deadly fear of cats. I couldn't be in the same room as cats. I would break out in tears if a cat is around.

I'm looking at my cat right now and I'm shocked.

When I read the script, I fell in love with Sam, I fell in love with the story, and I so badly wanted to do it. But the cat. I talked to the director, Michael Sarnoski, and I was like, "Is there any way we can consider a different animal? I will work with an armadillo." And he said, "No, actually, it has to be a cat." That was the sticking point for me. It took me some time to really wrap my head around the fact that I had to face my fear of cats in order to do this film. I had to go to cat therapy, I had to bring someone to my apartment to help me get over my fear of cats. And the first day, this wonderful lady brought two cats, and she kept one in a carrier and the other one she let out. I stood at the other end of the room and just asked her questions about why the cat was behaving the way it was behaving. And it was a very smooth, like touching the cat with one finger. And, of course, by the time production came along, I was somewhat comfortable with a cat. But it was a big arc to get to a place where by the end of the film, I was madly in love with the cats, and I was crying because I didn't want to let them go. And now I have a cat.

You were even holding a cat the premiere of the film.

Yeah, I can confidently say this film has changed my life.

Lupita Nyong’o Got Over Being a ‘Scaredy
Lupita Nyong'o and Schnitzel the cat attend the photocall for "A Quiet Place: Day One" at IET London: Savoy Place on May 01, 2024 in London, England. Gareth Cattermole/Getty Images

Well, when I saw the trailer, I immediately was like, "I want to see that, but nothing better happen to that cat." I know you probably can't answer this, but does the cat survive?

You see, I cannot tell you that. That's what gets you into that seat.

Oh God, fine! You're so right, because seeing your character walk around with a cat while aliens take over New York City, I just kept thinking about the cat and why this person is walking around the city with a cat. So that leads me to, what about Sam did you respond to and what about them makes an interesting person to tell this origin story?

I would say what drew me to Sam was she was so different from me, her outlook on life. I've not played a character like her. Her personality, her character is just very different from the way I approach the world, and so that was intriguing, also extremely intimidating, because it was definitely going to be a challenge to become Sam. That's what drew me to her. I mean, that's saying a lot without saying anything. [laughs]

The city is a big part of this story. What about the setting made the survival of these characters so unique?

Well, the city in this movie is a character in and of itself. It's also the protagonist and the antagonist, because New York is such a bustling city that to require it to go completely silent is a very tall order. And for that to be the only way to survive within that city, it's a compelling conceit. These characters have to navigate the impossible and the circumstances of this world as they come to find it on this one day. It makes for a much more dexterous journey, I will say, compared to the last few films that were in a remote location.

How do you think you would fare in that world?

I would not do well, because when I am deathly afraid, I break out in fits of laughter. Which is the wrong thing to be doing when you're scared, ever. And so I feel like I would die laughing, which is great. If there's going to be an upside.

We need to talk about Djimon Hounsou. The two of you in the same film, two of the most beautiful people in the world, is just mind-blowing. What was it like working with him?

I was so excited to work with Djimon. He is an actor that I have admired. For me, really, he's been the beacon of light and hope being an African who made it in Hollywood. He was a go-to figure for me as a young Kenyan hoping to one day be an actor myself. So, to share the screen with him meant the world to me and to meet him and find that he is a consummate gentleman and such a generous partner. I mean, in the scene work he's so present, he's viciously present when he works, and also generous and kind. It was a wonderful experience. I wish it had lasted longer, to be honest.

See now, I would have immediately talked to him about being in the Janet Jackson "Love Will Never Do (Without You)" music video.

I didn't think to ask him about that. I'm gonna have to ask him the next time I see him.

I must admit something. I wanted to chat with you because yes, I'm a huge fan of yours and yes, I love the Quiet Place franchise, but I also needed you to know how angry I was, and so many other people, that you were not nominated for an Oscar for your work in the Jordan Peele film Us. It's insane to me. I think I know your answer to this, but were you as angry as I am to this day? And how did you do that performance?

Oh, that is so kind of you to say and thank you so much. I mean, to your first question, would it be amazing if my answer was, "Yes." It would be wild. [laughs] Honestly, first of all, I won an Academy Award for my very first film [for 12 Years a Slave in 2013], so already my career started with a feeling [of] just incredulousness. Like how is this possible? How is this my reality? And now 10 years later, I have accepted the bounty that has befallen me, and I embrace it. And for me, Us in itself was bounteous. To be able to play not just one but two characters in a Jordan Peele film, in his sophomore movie after Get Out, that I watched like six times in the cinema. It was such a dream come true to play with Jordan and play double time, and to stretch my instrument and dare myself to go to these two, very related but different places. And I mean, I felt so large making that movie. I expanded making that movie with Jordan. And it continues to be the gift that keeps on giving because of statements like the one you just made. Sometimes it's not in holding the golden statue, it's in resonating in people's hearts and minds. That's where I win.

It's interesting you say that, because ever since your Oscar win, the projects that have followed have felt intentional. Like you didn't just do every movie, it feels like you wait for the right thing. Do you think about the impact of the work that you will be doing?

You know, winning an Academy Award so early in my career granted me choice in a way that very few actors have. And I made a pact to myself to exercise that choice for as long as I can. I feel very grateful that I can do that. It is a privilege and a luxury to be able to choose my projects and not just think about staying alive. So for as long as I can, I want to be as selective as possible. Because the truth is, every time I give myself to a project, I'm giving my life away. I don't get that time back. I might as well be making work that is exciting to me, and meaningful and hopefully impactful in the world. Now, it's not always going to be a hit, but I don't ever want to regret the time I spent making something because that's life. That's my actual life.

Lupita Nyong’o Got Over Being a ‘Scaredy
Actress Lupita Nyong'o accepts the Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role award for '12 Years a Slave' onstage during the Oscars at the Dolby Theatre on March 2, 2014 in Hollywood, California. Kevin Winter/Getty Images

My last question for you is something we've touched on a little bit, your Oscar win. I find I often go back to watch your acceptance speech, first for your gown which is up there with Grace Kelly in my opinion, just iconic. But also because of what you said, the power of it. It's been 10 years since you won. Do you still feel the impact from the people that were so touched by your win?

Wow. I mean, yes, I do feel the impact. And when I hear things like what you just said, it's like, I had no understanding or expectation that what I would say that night would resonate 10 years later. I haven't watched the speech since I gave it myself.

Because you lived it.

I lived it. And the thing that I'm quoted most for, I hadn't planned to say, so it was a really pure moment that was received as such. To see what it has meant to people around the world, and how many people will refer to that speech as a bolstering thing for themselves. I guess that was the sentiment I was trying to get across, but I could have never imagined it would resonate for this long. I'm very touched by it, that it has resonated for that long. It's just a reminder that sometimes we are just vessels, and I'm very proud to have been the vessel of that message.

About the writer


A writer/comedian based in Los Angeles. Host of the weekly podcast Parting Shot with H. Alan Scott, ... Read more

To read how Newsweek uses AI as a newsroom tool, Click here.
Newsweek cover
  • Newsweek magazine delivered to your door
  • Newsweek Voices: Diverse audio opinions
  • Enjoy ad-free browsing on Newsweek.com
  • Comment on articles
  • Newsweek app updates on-the-go
Newsweek cover
  • Newsweek Voices: Diverse audio opinions
  • Enjoy ad-free browsing on Newsweek.com
  • Comment on articles
  • Newsweek app updates on-the-go