Pursuit’s Post

View organization page for Pursuit, graphic

303,017 followers

Hiring sales is different from hiring any other position. Why? Recruiting shifts when you have to vet out the soft skills required for sales, rather than matching resumes with open positions. Hard skills are easier to find as they are 'measurable' and soft skills are not; a lot more strategy, preparation, and intentionality are required to seek out the soft skills needed for sales roles. We have placed numerous candidates that weren't a fit on paper but were a strong fit for the actual role. A resume never tells the whole story.

Jeff Weygandt

Assistant Manager, Overhead Door of Akron

1y

The one that annoys me the most is wanting experience in the specific niche of business that they are in. I can teach product, I can teach technology, but sales and people skills are an art form. I have sold everything from toasters to H1's, software to commercial security, and I was never an expert at the product when I took the job. Look for the skills and ability and not the product.

Lenny LaRosa

Senior Sales Representative at Griff Paper and Film

1y

agreed

Well said! As I have been navigating my way through this recent job search I have emphasized my story. Don’t just look at whether I match up perfectly with your required skills but pay attention to incredibly complex experiences I have successfully completed. My power is in my story. Talk to me.

Alexandra Bauman

Founder & CEO at PrimeTalent

11mo

Even though this post has been around for a while, its message resonates deeply with me. My decade-long experience as a teacher before transitioning into tech has been instrumental. It's challenging to demonstrate on paper how I have learned to love market research, securing meetings, and finalizing sales. Much of this proficiency stems from years of understanding how to enhance another's process or organization. I've come to truly love the sales profession because, when done right, it's ultimately a "people-first" profession.

Like
Reply

This is why you shouldn’t not apply if the qualifications listed aren’t met. What do you have to lose? And who’s to say they won’t look at the larger picture and reach out to learn more about you?

Chris Smith ✔

Helping Banks & Credit Unions accomplish their marketing needs and grow their customer base.

1y

Amen! The proper soft skills not only contribute to a good culture fit but also allow you to know how that person will interact with others. Both are imperative factors for the success of the candidate and the company that hires them.

No offense to anyone in the comments but as a purchaser I can tell you that most sales people lack real "soft skills" to connect and that's not what influences a company to buy. It's cost, quality, and speed of delivery. Which one is the most important changes depending on the companies current needs. If you keep calling on that one customer that won't set up a meeting or lunch with you it's because they don't want to deal with their sales person.

Ryan Boyd, P.E.

Consultant | Project Cargo | Barging | Heavy Lift | Marine Construction | Naval Architecture

1y

Dan S. finally someone comes out and says this. 🙌🏼 this may be the group to work with as you seek your next venture.

Brian Melton

Territory Account Manager (National & Regional)

1y

Hi there, I'm really struggling to find a great sales career with a recent flag on my background check. I have 7+ years in sales experience and keep getting politely told that while my interviews and resume look great, I'm just not the right fit. Am I climbing up the wrong ladder trying to rebuild a career in sales with a red flag on my background? Any help would greatly appreciated :)

Like
Reply
MARNI P.

FMLA COORDINATOR at Lockheed Martin Corp.

1y

Unfortunately, it isn’t always the most talented, out of the box thinkers who are tasked with sourcing, conducting interviews, etc.

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics